Photo of Elizabeth Warren

Warren Campaign Press Release - Iowa Leaders Endorse Elizabeth Warren for President

November 21, 2019

West Des Moines, Iowa—The Iowa for Warren campaign today announced endorsements from 25 leaders from across Iowa, building on the depth and breadth of support for Elizabeth Warren and her plans for big, structural change. The endorsements come from current and former Iowa Democratic leaders as well as activists with deep ties to their communities.

Among the new endorsers are state Rep. Art Staed, two former state legislators, six current or former local elected officials and six Democratic Party activists.

"Elizabeth Warren has the passion and intellect to unite and lead our nation," Art Staed said. "Even in these times of polarization, we can make big, structural change if we lead with compassion, thoughtfulness and decisive action—and that's exactly what Elizabeth will do."

Staed is the tenth state legislator to endorse Warren, joining state Sens. Joe Bolkcom, Claire Celsi, Eric Giddens, and Zach Wahls, and state Reps. Liz Bennett, Tracy Ehlert, Lindsay James, Mary Mascher, and Mary Wolf.

The following leaders and activists endorsed Elizabeth this week:

  • Art Staed, state representative, Cedar Rapids
  • Charlie Bruner, former state senator and child policy advocate, Ames
  • Dave Osterberg, former state representative, Mount Vernon
  • Niki Conrad, Webster County supervisor, Fort Dodge
  • Don Bailey, former Waukee mayor, Waukee
  • Jonathan Greider, Waterloo city councilman, Waterloo
  • Heather Anderson, Des Moines Public Schools board member, Des Moines
  • Kalyn Cody, Des Moines Public Schools board member, Des Moines
  • John Dabeet, Muscatine Community School District board member, Muscatine
  • Jan Creasman, Harrison County Democrats chair, Woodbine
  • Twyla Peacock, Van Buren County Democrats chair, Keosauqua
  • Sandi O'Brien, Woodbury County Democrats vice chair, Sioux City
  • Zaak Barnes, former Ankeny Area Democrats chair, Ankeny
  • Benjamin Breuer, Northwest Area Democrats treasurer, Des Moines
  • Colleen Caldwell, Iowa Democratic Party State Central Committee Rural Caucus chair, Iowa City
  • Pat Navin, labor leader, Winterset
  • Don Dew, disability advocate, Sioux City
  • Greg Nepstad, community activist, Stuart
  • DJ Hassel, community activist, Windsor Heights
  • Kathy Eckhouse, community activist, Des Moines
  • Arlene McAtee, community activist, West Des Moines
  • Nate Mason, faith leader, Corydon
  • John Ikerd, retired professor of agricultural economics, Fairfield
  • Dave Gaul, farmer, Earling
  • Austin Frerick, agricultural reformer, Winterset

These Iowans join State Treasurer Michael Fitzgerald, former Lieutenant Governor Sally Pederson, more than 75 veterans and military family members, and dozens of local officials and activists who have endorsed Warren's campaign.

Elizabeth Warren, Warren Campaign Press Release - Iowa Leaders Endorse Elizabeth Warren for President Online by Gerhard Peters and John T. Woolley, The American Presidency Project

Simple Search of Our Archives