Jimmy Carter photo

United States Parole Commission Nomination of Three Persons To Be Commissioners.

September 22, 1977

The President today announced three persons whom he will nominate as Commissioners of the United States Parole Commission. They are:

Benjamin J. Malcolm, of St. Albans, N.Y., who would replace Curtis C. Crawford, term expired. Malcolm was born August 24, 1919, in Philadelphia, Pa. He received a B.A. from Morehouse College in 1940 and an M.P.A. from New York University in 1970. He served in the U.S. Army from 1942 to 1946.

Malcolm worked for the New York City Parole Commission from 1948 to 1967, serving as a parole officer, then deputy chief parole officer. From 1967 to 1970, he was assistant director of labor relations for the city of New York. He has been with the New York City Department of Correction since 1970, serving as deputy commissioner from 1970 to 1972 and commissioner since 1972.

Cecil M. McCall, of Roswell, Ga., who would replace Maurice H. Sigler, resigned. McCall was born June 22, 1936, in Pickens, S.C. He received an A.B. from the University of South Carolina in 1961. He served in the U.S. Air Force from 1954 to 1958.

McCall worked for the March of Dimes Foundation from 1961 to 1969, rising from representative to regional director. From 1970 to 1972, he was director of the Georgia Probation Department. Since 1972 he has been a member of the Georgia State Board of Pardons and Paroles, and from 1972 to 1976 he served as chairman.

Robert D. Vincent, of Oklahoma City, Okla., who would replace Lawrence A. Carpenter, resigned. Vincent was born November 15, 1942, in Tucson, Ariz. He received a B.A., M.S., and Ph.D. from Oklahoma University.

In 1968 and 1969, Vincent was a research psychologist at Battelle Memorial Institute in Columbus, Ohio. From 1969 to 1972, he was president of Action-Analysis in Washington. He served as president of Antec, Inc., in Oklahoma City from 1970 until 1972. Since 1972 he has been a member of the Oklahoma State Regents for Higher Education.

Jimmy Carter, United States Parole Commission Nomination of Three Persons To Be Commissioners. Online by Gerhard Peters and John T. Woolley, The American Presidency Project https://www.presidency.ucsb.edu/node/242244

Filed Under



Simple Search of Our Archives