Jimmy Carter photo

Strategy Council Appointment of Seven Members and Designation of Executive Director.

November 04, 1977

The President today announced the appointment of seven persons to the Strategy Council. The Strategy Council was created by the Drug Abuse Office and Treatment Act of 1972, but members have not previously been appointed. The Council is charged with the responsibility of developing a comprehensive, coordinated, long-term strategy for all drug abuse prevention and drug traffic prevention functions of the Federal Government.

The seven persons appointed are:

MILTON F. BRYANT, an Atlanta surgeon and medical researcher and associate professor of surgery at Emory University;

VERNON JORDAN, JR., executive director of the National Urban League;

JOYCE H. LOWINSON, director of the Drag Abuse Service and associate clinical professor of psychiatry at the Albert Einstein College of Medicine, Bronx, N.Y.;

DAVID F. MUSTO, associate professor of psychiatry and history, Yale University;

CHARLES B. O'KEEFFE, JR., White House adviser on health issues and drug abuse;

DONALD D. POMERLEAU, police commissioner of Baltimore, Md.;

HARVEY I. SLOANE, M.D., mayor of Louisville, Ky.

The President has designated Peter Bourne, his Special Assistant for Health Issues, as Executive Director of the Council. Other members are Secretary of State Cyrus Vance, Secretary of the Treasury Michael Blumenthal, Secretary of Defense Harold Brown, Attorney General Griffin Bell, Secretary of Health, Education, and Welfare Joseph Califano, Acting OMB Director James Mcintyre, and Veterans Affairs Administrator Max Cleland.

Jimmy Carter, Strategy Council Appointment of Seven Members and Designation of Executive Director. Online by Gerhard Peters and John T. Woolley, The American Presidency Project https://www.presidency.ucsb.edu/node/242513

Filed Under



Simple Search of Our Archives