George W. Bush photo

Statement by the Press Secretary on Federal Assistance for South Carolina

February 13, 2004

The President today declared a major disaster exists in the State of South Carolina and ordered Federal aid to supplement State and local recovery efforts in the area struck by a severe ice storm on January 26-30, 2004.

Federal funding is available to State and eligible local governments and certain private nonprofit organizations on a cost-sharing basis for the repair or replacement of facilities damaged by the severe ice storm in the counties of Aiken, Bamberg, Barnwell, Calhoun, Clarendon, Edgefield, Florence, Horry, Kershaw, Lexington, Marion, McCormick, Newberry, Orangeburg, Richland, Sumter, and Williamsburg.

Federal funding is also available on a cost-share basis for hazard mitigation measures.

Representing the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA), Michael D. Brown, Under Secretary for Emergency Preparedness and Response, Department of Homeland Security, named Carlos Mitchell as the Federal Coordinating Officer for Federal recovery operations in the affected area.

The Agency said additional designations may be made at a later date if requested by the State and warranted by the results of further damage assessments.


George W. Bush, Statement by the Press Secretary on Federal Assistance for South Carolina Online by Gerhard Peters and John T. Woolley, The American Presidency Project

Simple Search of Our Archives