Mitt Romney photo

Romney Campaign Press Release - Governor Mitt Romney Names West Michigan Leadership Team

April 12, 2007


Kevin Madden (857) 288-6390

Boston, MA - Governor Mitt Romney today announced the Romney for President West Michigan Leadership Team. The 31 men and women who make up this team will help Governor Romney build on his strong base of support in West Michigan. Also announcing his support for Governor Romney today was State Senator Ron Jelinek.

"It is an honor to have the support of so many friends in West Michigan. I look forward to campaigning with these leaders all across Michigan as we advance our message of change in Washington," said Governor Romney.

With today's announcement, U.S. Representative and Romney for President Michigan Co-Chair Pete Hoekstra said, "I am pleased to lead this outstanding group of West Michigan leaders in support of my choice for President of the United States - Mitt Romney. Governor Romney has demonstrated a unique ability to bring people together and show incredible leadership in the most difficult of circumstances. I am proud to support his candidacy and am very pleased to have Senator Ron Jelinek join our team."

Representative Hoekstra is the ranking Republican member of the House Intelligence Committee and advises Governor Romney on matters pertaining to U.S. intelligence.

Announcing his support, State Senator Ron Jelinek said, "I'm proud to be among Governor Romney's many supporters in Michigan. He is the only candidate laying out a strong agenda for America's future. With his leadership, we can make conservative principles work in Washington."

Romney For President West Michigan Leadership Team:

- Pete Hoekstra, U.S. Representative

- J.C. Huizenga, Romney for President West Michigan Finance Chair

- Cameron Brown, State Senator

- Ron Jelinek, State Senator

- Ken Sikkema, Former Senate Majority Leader

- Goeff Hansen, State Representative

- David Hildenbrand, State Representative

- Neal Nitz, State Representative

- David Palsrok, State Representative

- Tom Pearce, State Representative

- Tonya Schuitmaker, State Representative

- Rick Shaffer, State Representative

- Fulton Sheen, State Representative

- Jim Koetje, Former State Representative

- Jerry Kooiman, Former State Representative

- Gerry Hildenbrand, 6th District Chair-State Committee Member

- Keith Den Hollander, Former 3rd District Committee Member / 3rd District Treasurer

- Thomas Newman, Former 6th District Chair / State Committee Member

- Jennifer Schultz, Former State Committee Member / Former Vice Chair

- Jean Coleman, State Committee Member

- Kyle Olson, State Committee Member

- Joan Runnels, State Committee Member

- Jon DeWitte, Ottawa County Chair

- Tony Garofalo, Allegan County Chair

- Bill LaBre, Cass County Chair

- Libby Child, Former Kent County Chair

- Rich Blatchford, Newaygo City Manager

- Karen Buie, Muskegon County Clerk

- Don Nugent, Michigan State University Trustee

- Linda Landheer, Newaygo Register Of Deeds

- Bret Witkowski, Berrien County Treasurer / Former County GOP Chair

Mitt Romney, Romney Campaign Press Release - Governor Mitt Romney Names West Michigan Leadership Team Online by Gerhard Peters and John T. Woolley, The American Presidency Project

Simple Search of Our Archives