Mitt Romney photo

Romney Campaign Press Release - Governor Mitt Romney Files Slate Of At-Large Delegates In West Virginia

December 31, 2007


Romney Press Shop (857) 288-6390

Boston , MA – Today, Governor Mitt Romney filed a slate of at-large delegates with the Republican Party of West Virginia for the West Virginia Republican Presidential Convention. Romney for President Political Director Carl Forti released the following statement:

"Today, the Romney campaign reinforced our commitment to winning the support of West Virginia's Republicans at the National Republican Convention in Minneapolis by submitting our slate of at-large delegates for West Virginia's own Presidential Convention. West Virginians are looking for a new set of ideas and new leadership that will make our nation stronger. Governor Romney has the vision, values and experience to take Washington apart and put it back together so that it works better for the American people. Governor Romney is an effective, proven, and conservative leader that West Virginians can be proud to support."

Governor Romney was the first Republican Presidential candidate to campaign in West Virginia, the first candidate to announce he will compete in the West Virginian Presidential Convention, and the first to file to do so, in August of 2007.

Governor Rommey's At-Large Delegates Will Be:

Robert Ashley – Ashley is a member of the West Virginia Legislature and a former Minority Leader in the West Virginia House of Delegates. He lives in Spencer.

Norma Clise – Clise is a lifelong Republican activist living in Romney.

John "Skip" Ellis - Ellis, of Bruceton Mills, is Chair of the Preston County Republican Party.

Allen V. Evans – Evans is a Member, West Virginia Legislature. He lives in Dorcas.

Gary "Marty" Gearheart – Gearheart is the Chair of the Mercer County Republican Party. He lives in Bluefield.

Steven A. Grimm – Grimm is the Wood County Assessor. He lives in Parkersburg.

Priscilla Haden – Haden lives in Charleston, and is a civic leader in Kanawha Leader.

Brian Long – Long is the Chair of the Marshall County Republican Party. He lives in Glen Dale.

Jeffrey Loudin – Loudin is a member, of the Randolph County Republican Executive Committee. He lives in Elkins.

Jerry Mays – Mays, of Martinsburg, is the former Chair of the Berkeley County Republican Party.

Catherine "Sue" McKinney – McKinney, of Bridgeport, is the Chair of the Harrison County Republican Party.

Thomas Joseph O'Neill – O'Neill, of Morgantown, is the Vice Chairman of the West Virginia Republican State Executive Committee.

Bill Phillips, Jr. – Phillips, of Elkins, was the Chief of Staff to former Governor Cecil H. Underwood.

Melody Potter – Potter, who lives in Charleston, is the Chair of the Kanawha County Republican Party.

Carolyn Rader – Rader, of Ripley, is Chair of the Jackson County Republican Party.

Marti Riggall – Riggall, of Charleston, is a member of Kanawha County Republican Women.

James Shaffer – Shaffer, of Morgantown, is a member of the West Virginia Republican State Committee.

Christopher Wakim – Wakim, of Wheeling, was a 2006 Congressional candidate and is a former member of the West Virginia Legislature.

Mitt Romney, Romney Campaign Press Release - Governor Mitt Romney Files Slate Of At-Large Delegates In West Virginia Online by Gerhard Peters and John T. Woolley, The American Presidency Project

Simple Search of Our Archives