Mitt Romney photo

Romney Campaign Press Release - Governor Mitt Romney Announces Tennessee Statewide Finance Committee

September 17, 2007


Romney Press Shop (857) 288-6390

Boston, MA – Today, Governor Mitt Romney named the 28 members of the Romney for President Tennessee Statewide Finance Committee. The Committee will help Governor Romney build upon his base of support in Tennessee and raise the resources necessary to campaign across the nation.

"I am grateful for the support of these dedicated Volunteer State leaders," said Governor Romney. "They recognize, as I do, that America faces a new generation of challenges that we will only overcome through innovation, transformation and a rededication to the conservative values that have made us strong."

"I am pleased to support Governor Romney's efforts in Tennessee," said Committee Chairman Bill Hagerty. "His conservative drive toward a stronger military, stronger economy and stronger families is what America needs in our next president. His experience as a global CEO, as head of the enormously successful Salt Lake Olympics and as a Governor underscore his unique leadership capabilities. Governor Romney is the best choice for Republicans to defeat a Democrat in November 2008."

Background On The Romney For President Tennessee Statewide Finance Committee Co-Chairs:

Bill Hagerty (Nashville) – Co-Chair And Romney For President National Finance Co-Chair: Hagerty is a managing director and co-founder of Hagerty Peterson, a private equity firm. During the first Bush administration, Hagerty served in the White House as Chief Economist of the President's Council on Competitiveness. Prior to his White House service, he spent seven years with the Boston Consulting Group ("BCG"), where Governor Romney also began his career. He will serve as the State Finance Chair and will work on a state-wide basis to organize the finance efforts for Governor Romney in Tennessee. He is a First Ballot Committee Chairman and a Founder Fundraiser for Governor Romney and also serves on the National Finance Committee.

Ted Welch (Nashville) – Co-Chair And Romney For President National Finance Co-Chair: Welch is the owner of Ted Welch Investments. He is the Finance Chairman of the Alexander for Senate Committee 2008, Chairman of TENNPAC, and a National Finance Co-Chair for Romney for President. Welch has served in finance leadership positions for Ronald Reagan, Bush/Quayle, the Southern Republican Leadership Conference, and the Republican National Committee, among others. He has been described in an issue of the New York Times Magazine as, "perhaps the best political fundraiser ever." A recent Wall Street Journal article called him the longtime "go-to guy for Republicans seeking the highest office."

Ted Lazenby (Nashville) – Co-Chair: Lazenby chairs LNC Corp., a private investment company. He is a former executive with National Life & Accident Insurance Co. and Southlife Holding Co. Lazenby is a member of the National Finance Committee of the Republican Party and headed finance efforts in Tennessee for the 2004 Bush campaign. He was the state finance chair for U.S. Senator Fred Thompson.

R. Brad Martin (Memphis) – Co-Chair: Martin served as Chairman and CEO of SAKS Incorporated between 1989 and January 2006. He is a graduate of the University of Memphis, where he served as president of the student body. He also holds an MBA degree from the Owen Graduate School of Management at Vanderbilt University. Martin served five terms as a member of the Tennessee House of Representatives and holds the distinction of being the youngest person ever elected to the Tennessee General Assembly, as he was elected to this post two days after his 21st birthday in 1972.

Governor Romney's Tennessee Statewide Finance Committee:

- Mike Blackburn, Nashville

- Randy Boyd, Knoxville

- Greg Burns, Nashville

- Tom Cigarran, Nashville

- Ken Connelly, Brentwood

- Joe Davenport, Chattanooga

- Fred Dettwiller, Nashville

- Leon Ebbert, Knoxville

- Doug Grindstaff, Brentwood

- Jackie Hendrix, Knoxville

- Rob McCabe, Nashville

- Trip Meredith, Murfreesboro

- Moore Rhett, Nashville

- Jerry Sink, Chattanooga

- Jim Shaub, Nashville

- Ammon Smartt, Brentwood

- Phil Smartt, Chattanooga

- Dr. David Snodgrass, Brentwood

- George Stadler, Nashville

- Don Taylor, Nashville

- David Watson, Brentwood

- Lucianne Wilt, Nashville

- Toby Wilt, Nashville

- Dennis Wolfe, Signal Mountain

Mitt Romney, Romney Campaign Press Release - Governor Mitt Romney Announces Tennessee Statewide Finance Committee Online by Gerhard Peters and John T. Woolley, The American Presidency Project

Simple Search of Our Archives