Mitt Romney photo

Romney Campaign Press Release - Governor Mitt Romney Announces Michigan Grassroots Steering Committee

March 05, 2007


Kevin Madden (857) 288-6390

Boston, MA – Today, Governor Mitt Romney announced that an overwhelming number of Republican Grassroots leaders have agreed to join his team as a part of the Romney for President Michigan Grassroots Steering Committee. Included on the State Grassroots Steering Committee are:

- 44 Current and Former County GOP Chairs

- 41 Current and Former GOP State Committee Members

- 7 Current and Former GOP Congressional District Chairs

"This is an outstanding group of Republican grassroots leaders who are now serving on my Michigan leadership team," said Governor Romney. "This team represents a mix of seasoned campaign veterans and newly elected leaders from every corner of the state. They are ready to carry our message of change in Washington to the voters and organize a strong, efficient effort for turning out support on Election Day."

The Michigan Grassroots Steering Committee will be led by Governor Romney's Michigan Grassroots Chairman Gerry Mason.

"This is a campaign people in Michigan are energized to work for," said Gerry Hildenbrand, 6th Congressional District GOP Chairman. "I have met Governor Romney and believe he is the right conservative leader for America. I am enthusiastically supporting him."

Michigan Republican County Chairs Endorsing Governor Romney:

Rita Hale, Alger County

Tony Garofalo, Allegan County

Ed Boettcher, Antrim County

Hubert Fisk, Arenac County

John Drennan, Baraga County

Bill LaBrae, Cass County

Greg Rotter, Cheboygan County

Anthony Stackpoole, Chippewa County

Kim Emmons, Clare County

Dr. Tim Tarry, Eaton County

Jack Waldvogel, Emmet County

Darlene Conner, Gladwin County

Geraldine Burt, Gogebic County

Eric St. Onge, Gratiot County

Neil Brady, Hillsdale County

Robert Hogan, Huron County

Norm Shinkle, Ingham County

Adam Hume, Iosco County

Jon Williams, Jackson County

Allan Filip, Livingston County

Jonathon Brown, Luce County

Jim Carabelli, Macomb County

Jackie Champlin, Montcalm County

Dan Marcrum, Montmorency County

Dennis Cowan, Oakland County

Dennis Sisco, Ogemaw County

Joel Butler, Otsego County

Jon DeWitte, Ottawa County

Jeffrey Lamb, Presque Isle County

Sam Burwell, Shiawassee County

Karry Bland, St. Clair County

Wes Dilworth, former Charlevoix Chair

Gail Nugent, former Benzie Chair

Carl Schwind, former Clare Chair

Tom Englund, former Delta Chair

Don Birgel, former Gladwin Chair

Libby Child, former Kent Chair

Charles Mulholland, former Montcalm Chair

Paul Welday, former Oakland Chair

Ken Shapley, former Saginaw Chair

David Kredell, former Sanilac Chair

Anna Kabot, former Tuscola Chair

Micki McClelland, former Mecosta Chair

Michigan Republican State Committee Members Endorsing Governor Romney:

Anthony Stackpoole, 1st CD

Robert Hogan, 10th CD

Norm Shinkle, 8th CD

Allan Filip, 8th CD

Gerry Mason, 10th CD

Kyle Olson, 2nd CD

Joan Runnels, 2nd CD

Florence Connolly, 4th CD

Scott Haines, 4th CD

Micki McClelland, 4th CD

Amy Carl, 5th CD

Jean Coleman, 6th CD

Mike Troutman, 7th CD (former Chair)

Don Vickers, 8th CD

Linda Lee Williams, 8th CD

Terri Kowall, 10th CD

Paul Viar, 10th CD

Eileen Kowall, 11th CD

Judy Bucholtz, 12th CD

Linda Solterisch, 13th CD

Joseph Tate, 13th CD

Scott Saionz, 14th CD

Carl Meyers, 15th CD

Bill Runco, 15th CD

Joel Westrom, 1st District Chairman

Carolyn Curtin, 4th District Chairwoman

Gerry Hildenbrand, 6th District Chairman

Dennis Buchholtz, 12th District Chairman

Tom Newman, former 6th District Chair

Bob Law, former 11th District Chair

Michael Bell, former State Committee

Jennifer Schultz, former State Committee

Margaret Stanley, former State committee

Lori (Packer) Wortz, former State Committee

Rosalie Skiwers, former State Committee

Marianne Packer, former State Committee

Jon Caron, former State Committee

Jim Miller, former State Committee

Marti Miller, former State Committee

Melvin Byrd, former State Committee

Linda Harmon, former State Committee

Mitt Romney, Romney Campaign Press Release - Governor Mitt Romney Announces Michigan Grassroots Steering Committee Online by Gerhard Peters and John T. Woolley, The American Presidency Project

Simple Search of Our Archives