Mitt Romney photo

Romney Campaign Press Release - Governor Mitt Romney Announces Additions to South Carolina Campaign Team

March 28, 2007


Kevin Madden (857) 288-6390

Boston, MA – Governor Mitt Romney today announced that Rick Adkins, Kathy Bigham and Paul Thurmond have joined his South Carolina campaign as Statewide Grassroots Co-Chairs. Together, they will help to further develop and build Governor Romney's grassroots operation in the Palmetto State.

"I am very pleased to welcome these talented Republican leaders to my South Carolina campaign effort," said Governor Romney. "With primary day fast approaching, their dedication and hard work will help me to communicate my optimistic vision for America's future to every corner of the state."

Governor Romney also released an expanded list of his South Carolina County Chairs (complete list below).

Background On Governor Romney's South Carolina Statewide Grassroots Co-Chairs:

Rick Adkins Is Chairman Of The Anderson County Republican Party. A real estate professional, Adkins is a veteran of South Carolina politics. He served as the 2002 County Chairman for Peeler for Governor, as the County Chairman for Bush-Cheney 2004 and as a delegate to the 2004 Republican National Convention. He chairs the Anderson County Republican Party as well as the Anderson Interfaith Ministries. He is also a member of the State Board of Education. A graduate of Clemson University, he and his wife, Teresa, have three children.

Kathy Bigham Is A Businesswoman And Trustee Of Winthrop University In Rock Hill. A graduate of Winthrop University, Bigham is president of Thursdays Too restaurant in Rock Hill. A member of the Clinton Junior College Advisory Board, she has served on the Winthrop Eagle Club's Board of Directors, the Wachovia Bank Advisory Board and Rock Hill Chamber of Commerce's Board of Directors. She has served as an executive committee member for the Carolinas Billy Graham Crusade, as co-chair for the Changing South Carolina to fight video poker, and as a member of the Bush for President South Carolina Steering Committee. She and her husband, Larry, have two children and three grandchildren.

Paul Thurmond Is An Attorney Who Serves On The Charleston County Council. A member of the County Council since 2007, Thurmond brings a fiscally conservative viewpoint to issues such as criminal justice, infrastructure improvement and planning for growth. A former Assistant Solicitor with the 9th Circuit Solicitor's Office, he is a partner and shareholder at Thurmond Kirchner & Timbes, P.A. A graduate of the University of South Carolina Law School, he and his wife, Katie, have one son.

New South Carolina County Chairs Named Today:

- Larry Courtney, Chesterfield County

- Betty Cox, Florence County

- Orey Middleton, Hampton County

- Kathy Stedman, Marion County

Complete List Of Governor Romney's South Carolina County Chairs (Updated):

Aiken County

June Cannon

Rick Osbon

Betty Ryberg

Allendale County

Julie Strong

Anderson County

Jane Jones

Bamberg County

Susan Rhoden

Barnwell County

Dan Ross

Beaufort County

Bob Holtzmacher

Berkeley County

Cheryl Ludlam

Senator Bill Mescher

Wayland Moody

Steve Querry

Bill Willcox

Calhoun County

Richard Sweatt

Ruby Sweatt

Charleston County

Daniel Dukes

Councilman Henry Fishburne

Cherokee County

Dr. Sam Swad

Chester County

Tot Kennedy

Alex Stroman

Chesterfield County

Larry Courtney

Clarendon County

Moye Graham

Colleton County

Joe Murrary

Darlington County
Scott Anderson

Dillon County

Nevell Rogers

Dorchester County

Tianna Keener

Elizabeth Miller

Edgefield County

Frank Mauer

Fairfield County

Coy Richardson

Florence County

Betty Cox

Mary Tepper

Georgetown County

Paul Hogan

Ricky Horne

Glen O'Connell

Greenville County

Dr. Robert Barnes

Marjorie Barnes

Councilman Joe Dill

Joe Haynes

Greenwood County

James Gardner

Michelle Oxner

Randy Oxner

Hampton County

Orey Middleton

Horry County

Representative Alan Clemmons

Jasper County

Keith Dubose

Kershaw County

James D'Alessio

Lancaster County

Sara Fleming

Al Simpson

Laurens County
Patrick Garrison

Lee County

Charlene Privette

Lexington County

Dr. Scott Andersen

Representative Nikki Haley

Representative Chip Huggins

Tim Miller

Representative Ted Pitts

Robert Schaeffer

Irby Schultz

Bill Shealy

Verona Shealy

Shirley Smith

Ottis Smith

Marion County

Kathy Stedman

McCormick County

Mid Self

Newberry County

Margaret Brackett

Senator Ronnie Cromer

Betty Dominick

Alan Gardner

Charles Simmons

Oconee County

Steve Sokol

Orangeburg County

Roy Lindsey

Chester Palmer

Barbara Strickland

Pickens County

Senator Larry Martin

Johnathan Strange

Richland County

Representative Nathan Ballentine

Denise Jones

Wanda Forbes

Grace Rentiers

Saluda County

Brandy Shealy

Spartanburg County

June Bond

Marlene Saad

Sumter County

Jimmy Byrd

Union County
Les Anderson

York County

Rod Benfield

Mitt Romney, Romney Campaign Press Release - Governor Mitt Romney Announces Additions to South Carolina Campaign Team Online by Gerhard Peters and John T. Woolley, The American Presidency Project

Simple Search of Our Archives