Dwight D. Eisenhower photo

Proclamation 3277—Tenth Anniversary of the North Atlantic Treaty

February 25, 1959

By the President of the United States of America

A Proclamation

Whereas ten years ago, on April 4, 1949, the North Atlantic Treaty was signed at Washington by Belgium, Canada, Denmark, France, Iceland, Italy, Luxembourg, the Netherlands, Norway, Portugal, the United Kingdom, and the United States; and

Whereas Greece and Turkey each became a party to the treaty on February 18, 1952, and the Federal Republic of Germany did likewise on May 6, 1955; and

Whereas this treaty has resulted in collaboration for the common defense and in political cooperation among the fifteen members of the North Atlantic Treaty Organization to a degree unprecedented in history, and has thereby significantly contributed to economic, social, and cultural progress among the peoples of the North Atlantic area; and

Whereas this association of free nations is a mainstay of peace and a shield of freedom; and

Whereas the North Atlantic Treaty Organization has requested its member governments to arrange and encourage, in their respective countries, appropriate observances and celebrations on the occasion of this anniversary:

Now, Therefore, I, Dwight D. Eisenhower, President of the United States of America, do hereby direct the attention of the Nation to Saturday, April 4, 1959, as the tenth anniversary of the signing of the North Atlantic Treaty; and I call upon all agencies and officials of the Federal Government, upon the Governors of the States, and upon the officers of local governments to encourage and facilitate the suitable observance of this occasion.

I also urge all citizens to participate in appropriate activities and ceremonies, in cooperation with the American Council on NATO, in recognition of the objectives and achievements of the North Atlantic Treaty Organization.

In Witness Whereof, I have hereunto set my hand and caused the Seal of the United States of America to be affixed.

DONE at the City of Washington this twenty-fifth day of February in the year of our Lord nineteen hundred and fifty-nine, and of the Independence of the United States of America the one hundred and eighty-third.

Signature of Dwight D. Eisenhower


By the President:


Acting Secretary of State

Dwight D. Eisenhower, Proclamation 3277—Tenth Anniversary of the North Atlantic Treaty Online by Gerhard Peters and John T. Woolley, The American Presidency Project https://www.presidency.ucsb.edu/node/307788

Simple Search of Our Archives