Franklin D. Roosevelt

Proclamation 2283—Immigration Quotas

April 28, 1938

By the President of the United States of America
A Proclamation

Whereas the Acting Secretary of State, the Secretary of Commerce, and the Secretary of Labor have reported to the President that pursuant to the duty imposed and the authority conferred upon them in and by sections 11 and 12 of the Immigration Act approved May 26, 1924 (43 Stat. 161), they jointly have made the revision provided for in section 12 of the said act and have fixed the quota of each respective nationality in accordance therewith to be as hereinafter set forth:

Now, Therefore, I, Franklin D. Roosevelt, President of the United States of America, acting under and by virtue of the power in me vested by the aforesaid act of Congress, do hereby proclaim and make known that the annual quota of each nationality effective for the remainder of the fiscal year ending June 30, 1938, and for each fiscal year thereafter, has been determined in accordance with the law to be, and shall be, as follows:

National Origin Immigration Quotas

Country or area Quota
Afghanistan 100
Albania 100
Andorra 100
Arabian peninsula (except Muscat, Aden Settlement and Protectorate, and Saudi Arabia) 100
Australia (including Tasmania, Papua, and all islands appertaining to Australia) 100
Belgium 1,304
Bhutan 100
Bulgaria 100
Cameroons (British mandate) 100
Cameroun (French mandate) 100
China 100
Czechoslovakia 2,874
Danzig, Free City of 100
Denmark 1,181
Egypt 100
Estonia 116
Ethiopia (Abyssinia) 100
Finland 669
France 3,086
Germany 27,370
Great Britain and Northern Ireland 65,721
Greece 307
Hungary 869
Iceland 100
India 100
Iran 100
Iraq 100
Ireland (Eire) 17,853
Italy 5,802
Japan 100
Latvia 236
Liberia 100
Liechtenstein 100
Lithuania 386
Luxemburg 100
Monaco 100
Morocco (French and Spanish zones and Tangier) 100
Muscat (Oman) 100
Nauru (British mandate) 100
Nepal 100
Netherlands 3,153
New Guinea, Territory of (including appertaining islands) (Australian mandate) 100
New Zealand 100
Norway 2,377
Palestine (with Trans-Jordan) (British mandate) 100
Poland 6,524
Portugal 440
Ruanda and Urundi (Belgian mandate) 100
Rumania 377
Samoa, Western (mandate of New Zealand) 100
San Marino 100
Saudi Arabia 100
Siam 100
South Africa, Union of 100
South-West Africa (mandate of the Union of South Africa) 100
Spain 252
Sweden 3,314
Switzerland 1,707
Syria and the Lebanon (French mandate) 123
Tanganyika Territory (British mandate) 100
Togoland (British mandate) 100
Togoland (French mandate) 100
Turkey 226
Union of Soviet Socialist Republics 2,712
Yap and other Pacific islands under Japanese mandate 100
Yugoslavia 845

The immigration quotas assigned to the various countries and quota areas are designed solely for purposes of compliance with the pertinent provisions of the Immigration Act of 1924 and are not to be regarded as having any significance extraneous to this object.

This proclamation shall take effect immediately, and shall supersede Proclamation No. 2048 of June 16, 1933.

In Witness Whereof, I have hereunto set my hand and caused the seal of the United States to be affixed.

Done at the City of Washington this 28th day of April, in the year of our Lord nineteen hundred and thirty-eight, and of the Independence of the United States of America the one hundred and sixty-second.

Signature of Franklin D. Roosevelt

By the President:
Acting Secretary of State.

Franklin D. Roosevelt, Proclamation 2283—Immigration Quotas Online by Gerhard Peters and John T. Woolley, The American Presidency Project

Simple Search of Our Archives