Joe Biden

Press Release - Cindy McCain Joins Biden-Harris Transition Team's Advisory Board

September 28, 2020

Adding Additional Bipartisan Voice to Diverse and Experienced Group

WASHINGTON — Today, the Biden-Harris Transition team announced Cindy McCain, Chair of the Board of Trustees of the McCain Institute for International Leadership at Arizona State University and the widow of U.S. Senator John McCain, will join the Transition team's diverse and bipartisan advisory board. This news follows Mrs. McCain's endorsement of Vice President Joe Biden for President last Tuesday.

"Cindy McCain is joining our already strong advisory board of diverse experts who are committed to ensuring a Biden-Harris administration is ready to meet our country's most urgent challenges on Day One," said Ted Kaufman, Co-Chair, Biden-Harris Transition. "This transition is like no other, preparing amid the backdrop of a global health crisis and struggling economy, which makes Mrs. McCain's experience as a business woman, philanthropist, and longtime advocate for issues impacting women and children all the more valuable."

The Biden-Harris Transition team's co-chairs, advisory board and senior leadership are an experienced group of experts who are prepared to lay the groundwork for a possible Biden administration and are ready to tackle the challenges facing our country.

Each advisory board member has been asked to provide counsel to the Biden-Harris Transition team as it plans to respond to the major crises the country is facing - particularly the public health crisis and the recession. This is all part of the bold strategy Vice President Biden has outlined for working families, which includes unprecedented investments in American competitiveness and our middle class.

Diversity of ideology and background is a core value of the transition, and today's announcement is another step demonstrating the importance of unifying the country under a Biden-Harris administration. McCain is the second registered Republican to join the advisory board. She joins Bob McDonald, Retired Chairman, President & CEO of The Procter & Gamble Company and 8th Secretary of the Department of Veterans Affairs.

Previously Announced Co-Chairs and Advisory Board Members:

Anita Dunn
Senior Advisor to Vice President Biden

Michelle Lujan Grisham
Governor, State of New Mexico

Ted Kaufman
Former United States Senator from Delaware

Cedric Richmond
Representative for Louisiana's 2nd Congressional District and National Co-Chairman, Biden for President

Jeff Zients
Former Director of the White House National Economic Council

Dr. Tony Allen
President, Delaware State University, a Historically Black College and University

Jared Bernstein
Senior Fellow at the Center on Budget and Policy Priorities

Pete Buttigieg
Former Mayor, South Bend, Indiana and 2020 Democratic Presidential Candidate

Leslie Caldwell
Former Assistant Attorney General for the Criminal Division, United States Department of Justice

Mark Gitenstein
Former United States Ambassador to Romania

Cecilia Martinez
Executive Director for Earth, Energy and Democracy, Energy and Climate Researcher with a Focus on Environmental Justice and Equity

Bob McDonald
Retired Chairman, President & CEO of The Procter & Gamble Company; 8th Secretary of the Department of Veterans Affairs

Minyon Moore
Former Assistant to the President and Director of the White House Office of Public Liaison

Dr. Vivek Murthy
Former Surgeon General of the United States

Ambassador Susan E. Rice
Former United States Ambassador to the United Nations & National Security Advisor

Teresa Romero
President, United Farm Workers

Cathy Russell
Former United States Ambassador-at-Large for Global Women's Issues

Lonnie Stephenson
International President of the International Brotherhood of Electrical Workers

Felicia Wong
President and CEO of the Roosevelt Institute

Sally Yates
Former Deputy Attorney General, United States Department of Justice

Joseph R. Biden, Press Release - Cindy McCain Joins Biden-Harris Transition Team's Advisory Board Online by Gerhard Peters and John T. Woolley, The American Presidency Project

Filed Under


Simple Search of Our Archives