Jimmy Carter photo

President's Commission on White House Fellowships Appointment of Members and Designation of Chairman.

May 20, 1977

The President today announced the persons whom he will appoint as members of the President's Commission on White House Fellowships. They are:

BARRY BINGHAM, SR., chairman of the board of the Louisville (Kentucky) Courier-Journal and Louisville Times Go.;

PETER G. BOURNE, Special Assistant to the President for Health Issues;

JOHN H. BREBBIA, managing partner in the Washington, D.C., office of Alston, Miller & Gaines;

ALAN K. CAMPBELL, Chairman of the Civil Service Commission;

MARILYN B. CHANDLER, urban planner, Los Angeles, Calif.;

PRISCILLA B. COLLINS, chairman of the board, King Broadcasting Co., Seattle, Wash.;

LLOYD N. CUTLER, member, Wilmer, Cutler & Pickering, Washington, D.C.;

WALTER G. DAVIS, director of education, AFL CIO, Washington, D.C. (reappointment);

ADA E. DEER, chairman, Menominee Common Stock and Voting Trust, Menominee Indian Tribe, Keshena, Wis.;

JOHN W. GARDNER, chairman, Common Cause, Washington. D.C.;

SUSAN HERTER, Deputy U.S. Representative on the Executive Board of UNICEF; in charge of former Vice President Rockefellet's temporary Washington, D.C., office;

CARL HOLMAN, president, National Urban Coalition, Washington, D.C.;

LADY BIRD JOHNSON, former First Lady, Stonewall, Tex.;

W. THOMAS JOHNSON, publisher, the Dallas (Texas) Times Herald;

BOISFEUILLET JONES, president, Emily and Ernest Woodruff Fund, Inc., Atlanta, Ga.:

STEVEN MULLER, president, Johns Hopkins University, (reappointment);

BETTY ANN OTTINGER, acting assistant director of the American University Counseling Center, Washington, D.C.;

VICTOR H. PALMIERI, president, Victor Palmieri & Co., Inc. (corporate management services), Los Angeles, Calif.;

JANE CAHILL PFEIFFER, independent management consultant, Greenwich, Conn. (reappointment);

ROGER B. PORTER, on leave from Harvard as a guest scholar at the Brookings Institution, Washington, D.C. (reappointment);

WILLIAM W. SCRANTON, former Governor of Pennsylvania, former U.S. Ambassador to the United Nations (reappointment);

JULIA V. TAFT, former Deputy Assistant Secretary for Human Development, Department of Health, Education, and Welfare (reappointment);

JAMES M. WALL, editor of The Christian Century, president of The Christian Century Foundation, Elmhurst, Ill.;

MICHAEL H. WALSH, attorney, Sheela, Lighther, Hughes & Castro, San Diego, Calif.;

HAROLD WILLENS, member, Common Cause

National Governing Board, national chairman, Businessmen's Educational Fund, chairman of the board, Factory Equipment Corp., Los Angeles, Calif.;

VICENTE T. XIMENES, private consultant on employment and education, Albuquerque, N. Mex.

The President also announced that he will designate John W. Gardner as Chairman of the Commission.

Jimmy Carter, President's Commission on White House Fellowships Appointment of Members and Designation of Chairman. Online by Gerhard Peters and John T. Woolley, The American Presidency Project https://www.presidency.ucsb.edu/node/242999

Filed Under



Simple Search of Our Archives