Jimmy Carter photo

President's Commission on the Holocaust Appointment of the Membership and Advisers to the Commission.

November 08, 1978

The President today announced the 24 persons he will appoint as members of the President's Commission on the Holocaust. The Commission was announced by the President on May 1 at the White House reception in honor of Israel's 30th anniversary, and was formally established by Executive order on November 1. The purpose of the Commission is to make recommendations on establishing and funding an appropriate memorial to victims of the Holocaust, and to recommend ways for the Nation to commemorate April 28 and 29, 1979, the "Days of Remembrance of Victims of the Holocaust."

The 24 members of the Commission announced today are:

ELIE WIESEL, the Andrew Mellon Professor of Humanities at Boston University, a recognized authority on the Holocaust and survivor of Nazi concentration camps. He will serve as Chairman of the Commission.

HYMAN BOOKBINDER, Washington representative for the American Jewish Committee;

ROBERT McAFEE BROWN, professor of ecumenics and world Christianity at Union Theological Seminary in New York City;

RABBI GERSON COHEN, chancellor and Jacob H. Schiff professor of history at the Jewish Theological Seminary of America in New York City;

LUCY S. DAWIDOWIGZ, an author and historian whose books include the award-winning "The War Against the Jews 1933-1945";

KITTY DUKAKIS, of Brookline, Mass., who is active in cultural exchange and scholarship programs between the United States and Israel;

BENJAMIN EPSTEIN, national director of the Anti-Defamation League of B'nai B'rith;

RABBI JUDA GLASNER, of Los Angeles, an author and civic leader, retired as rabbi of several congregations in California;

ARTHUR J. GOLDBERG, U.S. Representative to the Conference on Security and Cooperation in Europe, and former Supreme Court Justice;

RABBI ALFRED GOTTSCHALK, president of the Hebrew Union College-Jewish Institute of Religion in Cincinnati;

FATHER THEODORE HESBURGH, president of Notre Dame University;

RAUL HILBERG, professor of political science at the University of Vermont and an historian of the Holocaust;

RABBI NORMAN LAMM, president of Yeshiva University in New York;

FRANK LAUWENBERG, national president of the United Jewish Appeal;

ARNOLD PICKER, Of Golden Beach, Fla., a retired attorney, now active in civic and philanthropic affairs;

RABBI BERNARD RASKAS, of the Temple of Aaron Congregation in St. Paul, Minn., who is active in national rabbinical organizations;

HADASSAH ROSENSAFT, a lecturer and author on the Holocaust, and a survivor of Bergen-Belsen, who remained in the camp over 5 years following liberation and supervised the. resettlement of the survivors;

BAYARD RUSTIN, president of the A. Philip Randolph Institute, former assistant to Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr.;

MARILYN SHUBIN, campaign director of the Atlanta Jewish Federation and national vice president of the National Council of Jewish Women;

ISAAC BASHEVIS SINGER, the award-winning Yiddish writer;

SIGMUND STROCHLITZ, a New London, Conn., automobile dealer, vice president of the American Friends of Haifa University, active in community affairs, and a survivor of concentration camps;

MARK TALISMAN, director of the Council of Jewish Federations and Welfare Funds;

TELFORD TAYLOR, professor emeritus of law at Columbia Law School, who served as chief counsel for the U.S. War Crimes Office at Nuremberg, Germany, from 1946 to 1949;

GLENN WATTS, president of the Communications Workers of America. The Commission will also include 10 Members of Congress, 5 from each House, to be appointed by the President of the Senate and the Speaker of the House of Representatives.

The President also announced 27 persons whom he will ask to contribute their advice to the Commission because of their scholarly expertise and community service. They are:

SYLVIA BECKER, of Atlanta, Ga., vice chairman of the Zachor Holocaust Research Center;

MICHAEL BERENBAUM, professor of history at Zachor Institute for the Holocaust, Wesleyan University, Middletown, Conn.;

IRVING BERNSTEIN, executive vice chairman of the United Jewish Appeal;

THOMAS BUERGENTHAL, a Fulbright and Jaworski professor of international law at the University of Texas, and chairman of the Human Rights Committee of UNESCO;

YAFFA ELIACH, professor of history at Brooklyn College and director of the Center for Holocaust Studies;

MICHAEL GETTINGER, former executive director of the Atlanta Jewish Welfare Federation;

HELEN GINSBERG, of Denver, president of the Babi Yar Park Foundation, a Holocaust memorial park ;.

AARON GOLDMAN, president of Macke Corporation and active in civic affairs;

ISAAC GOODFRIEND, cantor of Ahavath Achim Synagogue in Atlanta;

GRACE COHEN GROSSMAN, curator of the Spertus Museum in Chicago, a Holocaust memorial and documentation center;

RABBI MARVIN HEIR, dean of Yeshiva University of Los Angeles and director of the Simon Wiesenthal Center on the Holocaust there;

RICHARD KRIEGER, executive director of the Jewish Federation of North Jersey and a consultant to Israel's Holocaust memorial, Mad Yeshem;

MILES LERMAN, of Vineland, N.J., vice chairman of the Zachor Holocaust Research Center;

PAUL LEWIS, of Dallas, Tex., a builder who has donated his time and money to building Holocaust memorials in 10 cities across the United States;

FRANKLIN LITTELL, chairman of the board of the National Institute on the Holocaust and chairman of Temple University's Department of Religion;

FRANK LOGUE, mayor of New Haven, Conn., who personally directed creation of that city's Holocaust memorial;

STEPHEN LUDSIN, president and founder of the Remembrance of the Holocaust Foundation;

BENJAMIN MEED, founder and president of the Warsaw Fighters and Ghetto Resisters Organization;

WILTON S. SAUG, a Cleveland attorney and president of the board of the Cleveland Jewish News;

JAY SCHECTOR, developer of the Holocaust studies curriculum for the New York City school system;

RICHARD SCHIFTER, a Bethesda, Md., attorney;

NATNAN SHAPELL, a Los Angeles builder, author, and philanthropist, and a Nazi camp survivor;

ABRAHAM SPIEGEL, a Beverly Hills businessman and philanthropist, and survivor of a Nazi camp;

RABBI MARC TANNENBAUM, an American Jewish Committee official and expert on the Holocaust;

SIGGI WILZIG, a Clifton, N.J., bank president and philanthropist, and survivor of a Nazi camp;

IRVIN ZIFF, national executive director of Jewish War Veterans;

SOLOMON ZYNSTEIN, founder and president of the American Federation of Jewish Fighters, Camp Inmates, and Nazi Victims.

Jimmy Carter, President's Commission on the Holocaust Appointment of the Membership and Advisers to the Commission. Online by Gerhard Peters and John T. Woolley, The American Presidency Project https://www.presidency.ucsb.edu/node/243972

Filed Under



Simple Search of Our Archives