George W. Bush photo

President Orders Federal Aid for Alaska

November 12, 2002

The President has declared a major disaster exists in the State of Alaska and ordered Federal aid to supplement state and local recovery efforts in the area struck by an earthquake on November 3, 2002, and continuing.

Federal funding is available to eligible local governments in Fairbanks North Star Borough, Denali Borough, Matanuska-Susitna Borough, the Regional Education Attendance Areas of Delta Greely, Alaska Gateway, Copper River and Yukon-Koyukuk, and the cities of Tetlin, Mentasta Lake, Northway, Dot Lake, Chistochina, Tanacross and the unincorporated communities of Slana and Tok on a cost-sharing basis for debris removal (Category A) and emergency protective measures (Category B) under the Public Assistance program to protect life and property damaged by the earthquake. Federal funding is also available on a cost share basis for hazard mitigation measures.

Joe M. Allbaugh, Director of the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA), named William Lokey as the Federal Coordinating Officer for Federal recovery operations in the affected area.

The Agency said that damage surveys are continuing in other areas, and additional jurisdictions may be designated after the assessments are completed.


George W. Bush, President Orders Federal Aid for Alaska Online by Gerhard Peters and John T. Woolley, The American Presidency Project

Simple Search of Our Archives