George W. Bush photo

President Bush Issues Emergency Declaration in Maine

March 21, 2001

The President today amended the emergency declaration issued for the March 5-7, 2001, record/near record snow in the State of Maine to include the counties of Androscoggin and Oxford for assistance.

Under the emergency declaration, FEMA will provide assistance for emergency protective measures undertaken to save lives, protect public health and safety, and property for a period of 48 hours.

The counties initially designated for assistance were Cumberland, Lincoln, Sagadahoc, and York.

Joe M. Allbaugh, Director of the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA), named David Rodham as the Federal Coordinating Officer for Federal recovery operations in the affected area.


George W. Bush, President Bush Issues Emergency Declaration in Maine Online by Gerhard Peters and John T. Woolley, The American Presidency Project

Simple Search of Our Archives