Jimmy Carter photo

Peace Corps Advisory Council Appointment of 29 Members and Designation of Cochairpersons.

October 06, 1980

The President today announced the appointment of 29 persons as members of the Peace Corps Advisory Council. They are:

MUHAMMAD ALI, former World Boxing Council heavyweight champion of the world;

THOMAS JOSEPH BARRETT, of St. Paul, Minn., managing attorney for Migrant Legal Services of Minnesota and North Dakota, a former Peace Corps volunteer;

CAROL BELLAMY, president of the New York City Council and a former Peace Corps volunteer (also designated Cochairperson);

ALVA T. BONDA, of Bratenahl, Ohio, chairman of the board of Penril Corp., an electronics firm, and a member of the board of trustees of Brandeis University;

HARLAN CLEVELAND, of Princeton, N.J., director of the Aspen Institute program in international affairs, a former U.S. Ambassador to NATO;

ANTHONY J. ESTEVEZ, of Miami, Fla., an architect and planner who is president of a building and development firm and owner of several residential and commercial properties and a heavy equipment company;

GREGORY MICHAEL FLAKUS, of Omaha, Nebr., a graduate assistant in the department of communications at the University of Nebraska, a former Peace Corps volunteer, and president of the National Council of Retired Peace Corps Volunteers;

ZOLTAN GOMBOS, of Cleveland, Ohio, editor of several Hungarian-language newspapers and president of the Liberty Publishing Co.;

LESTER GROSS, of Columbia, S.C., president of Harbison Development Corp., a member of the Urban Land Institute and of the board of trustees of the United States League of New Community Developers;

SAMUEL HALPERIN, director of the Institute for Educational Leadership at George Washington University, former Deputy Assistant Secretary of Health, Education, and Welfare;

TERRY HERNDON, of Bethesda, Md., executive director of the National Education Association and a director of the United Nations Association and the Council on Hemispheric Affairs (also designated Cochairperson);

YOLANDA KING, of Atlanta, Ga., an actress and director, member of the board of directors of the Martin Luther King, Jr., Center for Social Change and the Commission for the Advancement of Policy Affecting Youth, the Disadvantaged, and the Poor;

MAXINE HONG KINGSTON, of Honolulu, Hawaii, a professor at the University of Hawaii and author of "The Woman Lawyer";

LORETTA LYNN, of Hurricane Mills, Tenn., award-winning country singer and author of the autobiography "Coal Miner's Daughter";

GRACE D. McCULLAH, of Mesa, Ariz., executive director of the Navajo Ford Product Industry, personnel director of the Navajo Tribe, and executive director of the Indian Development District of Arizona;

MARY TYLER MOORE, actress and entertainer;

HENRY MORGENTHAU, of Cambridge, Mass., special assistant to the president of the University of Massachusetts for audiovisual communications and a former executive producer for WGBH-Television in Boston;

ANTONIA PANTOJA, president and founder of the Graduate School for Urban Resources and Social Policy in San Diego, Calif., founder and the first executive director of ASPIRA, and founder of the Puerto Rican Association for Community Affairs;

RUBY B. PERNELL, professor of social work at Case Western Reserve University and former social welfare attache at the U.S. Embassy in New Delhi, India;

EVELYN PEARY, of Cary, N.C., coordinator of volunteer services for the city of Raleigh, a former Peace Corps volunteer, who also served as Peace Corps special projects assistant and Peace Corps program officer for radio and television;

DONALD E. POST, of Austin, Tex., professor of anthropology and sociology and director of Third World studies at St. Edward's University;

YOLANDA SANCHEZ, Of the Bronx, N.Y., executive director of the East Harlem Council for Human Services and project director for the East Harlem Neighborhood Health Center, a founding member and board member of the New York chapter of the National Conference of Puerto Rican Women;

SIDNEY SUHER, of Rochester, N.Y., an attorney specializing in family law;

GENE TACKETT, of Bakersfield, Calif., president of the Central California Health Planning Organization and member of the Kern County Board of Supervisors, a former Peace Corps volunteer and Peace Corps recruiter;

FAYE WATTLETON, Of New Rochelle, N.Y., president of the Planned Parenthood Federation of America, a former assistant director of public health nursing services for the city of Dayton, Ohio;

DAVID WINFIELD, captain and outfielder with the San Diego Padres baseball team, founder of the David Winfield Foundation for Underprivileged Children;

JOAN T. WINN, of Dallas, Tex., a judge of the 191st Judicial District Court of Texas and a former Peace Corps volunteer;

FRANCE YANAI WONG, of Los Angeles, Calif., an elementary school teacher with the Los Angeles Unified School District, former chairperson of the cultural and student exchange program of the Los Angeles-Nagoya, Japan Sister Cities program;

ANDREW J. YOUNG, president of Young Ideas, former U.S. Ambassador to the United Nations.

The President also announced that Mrs. Lillian Carter will serve as honorary Chair of. this Council.

Jimmy Carter, Peace Corps Advisory Council Appointment of 29 Members and Designation of Cochairpersons. Online by Gerhard Peters and John T. Woolley, The American Presidency Project https://www.presidency.ucsb.edu/node/250678

Filed Under



Simple Search of Our Archives