Jimmy Carter photo

Nominations Submitted to the Senate

February 17, 1978

The following list does not include promotions of members of the Uniformed Services, nominations to the Service Academies, or nominations of Foreign Service officers.

Submitted February 13, 1978

GLORIA CUSUMANO JIMENEZ, of North Carolina, to be Federal Insurance Administrator, Department of Housing and Urban Development (new position).

LESLIE LAZAR KANUK, of New Jersey, to be a Federal Maritime Commissioner for the term expiring June 30, 1981, vice Clarence Morse, term expired.

Submitted February 13—Continued

The following-named persons to be members of the Board of Directors of the Overseas Private Investment Corporation for terms expiring December 17, 1979:

JAMES M. FRIEDMAN, of Ohio, vice Gustave M. Hauser, resigned.

RICHARD R. SWANN, of Florida, vice James A. Suffridge, term expired.

Submitted February 15, 1978

ELLEN B. BURNS, of Connecticut, to be United States District Judge for the District of Connecticut, vice M. Joseph Blumenfeld, retired.

Submitted February 17, 1978

ROGER KIRK, of the District of Columbia, a Foreign Service officer of Class one, to be the Deputy Representative of the United States of America to the International Atomic Energy Agency, with the rank of Ambassador.

EVELYN T. DAVIDSON, of Colorado, to be Superintendent of the Mint of the United States at Denver, vice Betty Higby, resigned.

ROBERT W. SWEET, of New York, to be United States District Judge for the Southern District of New York, vice Inzer B. Wyatt, retired.

JAMES V. SERIO, JR., of Louisiana, to be United States Marshal for the Eastern District of Louisiana for the term of 4 years, vice Ollie Lee Canion, resigned.

Jimmy Carter, Nominations Submitted to the Senate Online by Gerhard Peters and John T. Woolley, The American Presidency Project https://www.presidency.ucsb.edu/node/244470

Simple Search of Our Archives