Bill Clinton photo

Nomination for the National Council on the Humanities

June 17, 1994

The President today announced his intention to nominate 10 scholars and civic leaders, including 2 winners of MacArthur Foundation fellowships, the so-called genius awards, to the National Council on the Humanities.

"Over the past three decades, our Nation's cultural life has become immensely richer because of the work of the National Endowment for the Humanities. The scholars and distinguished citizens I am naming today will help that tradition of excellence to continue to flourish," the President said.

The nominees are: Ramon Gutierrez, Darryl Gless, Charles Patrick Henry, Nicolas Kanellos, Bev Lindsey, Robert Rotberg, John D'Arms, Thomas Holt, Martha Howell, and Harold Skramstad.

NOTE: Biographies of the nominees were made available by the Office of the Press Secretary.

William J. Clinton, Nomination for the National Council on the Humanities Online by Gerhard Peters and John T. Woolley, The American Presidency Project

Filed Under



Simple Search of Our Archives