Jimmy Carter photo

National Science Board Nomination of Seven Members.

October 12, 1978

The President today announced seven persons whom he will nominate to be members of the National Science Board for terms expiring May 10, 1984. They are:

LEWIS M. BRANSCOMB, Of Armonk, N.Y., vice president and chief scientist for IBM Corp., former Director of the National Bureau of Standards, and an expert in atomic physics;

EUGENE H. COTA-ROBLES, of Santa Cruz, Calif., academic vice chancellor and professor of biology at the University of California at Santa Cruz, an expert in bacteriology and microbiology;

ERNESTINE FRIEDL, of Durham, N.C., a professor of anthropology at Duke University;

WALTER E. MASSEY, of Providence, R.I., dean of the college and professor of physics at Brown University;

DAVID V. RAGONE, of Ann Arbor, Mich., dean of the College of Engineering at the University of Michigan, an expert in metallurgical engineering;

EDWIN E. SALPETER, of Ithaca, N.Y., the James Gilbert White Professor of Physical Sciences at Cornell University, an expert in astrophysics;

CHARLES P. SLICHTER, of Champaign, Ill., professor of physics and in the Center for Advanced Study, Loomis Laboratory of Physics, at the University of Illinois.

Jimmy Carter, National Science Board Nomination of Seven Members. Online by Gerhard Peters and John T. Woolley, The American Presidency Project https://www.presidency.ucsb.edu/node/243974

Filed Under



Simple Search of Our Archives