Jimmy Carter photo

National Museum Services Board Nomination of 15 Members of the Board.

October 12, 1977

The President today announced that he will nominate the following persons as members of the National Museum Services Board:

For 5-year terms:

LLOYD of HEZEXIAH, director of the Brooklyn (New York) Children's Museum;

PETER H. RAVEN, director of the Missouri Botanical Garden in St. Louis;

GEORGE C. SEYBOLT (to be designated Chairman of the Board on confirmation), of Westwood, Mass., chairman of the American Association of Museums' trustees committee;

For 4-year terms:

LEWIS DAVIS, a New York architect who has done extensive work in museum design;

RAUL A. LOPEZ, curator of New World Collections and Communication Publication Program at UCLA's Museum of Cultural History;

E.. LELAND WEBBER, director of the Field Museum of Natural History in Chicago;

For 3-year terms:

GARY K. CLARKE, director of the Topeka, Kans., Zoological Park;

GEORGE HORSE CAPTURE, an Indian curriculum researcher and instructor at the College of Great Falls in Montana;

CHARLOTTE FIRST, member of the executive committee and chairman of the endowment committee of the High Museum of Art in Atlanta;

For 2-year terms:

MAMIE P. CLARK, executive director of the Northside Center for Child Development in New York;

BENJAMIN W. HAZARD, curator of special exhibits in education at the Oakland (California) Museum;

NANCY NEGLEY, president of the San Antonio Conservation Society;

For 1-year terms:

DOUGLAS DILLON, president of the Metropolitan Museum of Art in New York;

NEIL HARRIS, professor of history at the University of Chicago;

JOAN MONDALE, former director of the Associated Council of the Arts and author of "Politics in Art."

Jimmy Carter, National Museum Services Board Nomination of 15 Members of the Board. Online by Gerhard Peters and John T. Woolley, The American Presidency Project https://www.presidency.ucsb.edu/node/241857

Filed Under



Simple Search of Our Archives