Jimmy Carter photo

National Commission on Neighborhoods Appointment of 15 Members to the Commission.

December 19, 1977

The President today announced the appointment of the following persons to be members of the National Commission on Neighborhoods. They are:

DR. ETHEL D. ALLEN, 48, of Philadelphia, Pa., surgeon and a member of the city council in Philadelphia;

ANNE BARTEY, 33, of Little Rock, Ark., commissioner of the Little Rock Planning Commission;

NICHOLAS R. CARBONS, 41, of Hartford, Conn., majority leader of the city council in Hartford;

GALE CINCOTTA, 45, of Chicago, Ill., executive director of the National Training and Information Center;

HAROLD W. GREENWOOD, 46, of Minneapolis, Minn., chairman of the board and president of Midwest Federal Savings & Loan Association;

MAYNARD JACKSON, 39, of Atlanta, Ga., mayor of Atlanta;

NORMAN KRUMHOLZ, 50, of Cleveland, Ohio, director of the Cleveland City Planning Commission;

DAVID C. LIZARRAGA, 36, of Los Angeles, Calif., executive director of the East Los Angeles Community Union;

JOHN McCLAUGHRY, 40, of Concord, Vt., president of the Institute for Liberty and Community;

VICTORIA M. MONGLARDO, 38, Of Hyattsville, Md., with the National Center for Urban Ethnic Affairs;

ARTHUR J. NAPARSTEK, 39, of Washington, D.C., director of the Washington Public Affairs Center;

ROBERT B. O'BRIEN, JR., of Newark, N.J., president, director, and chief executive officer of Carteret Savings and Loan Association;

MACLER C. SHEPARD, 59, of St. Louis, Mo., president of Jeff-Vander-Lou, Inc.;

PETER SANDOR UJVAGI, 28, of Toledo, Ohio, vice president for sales at E & C Manufacturing Co., Inc.;

BATHRUS B. WILLIAMS, 62, of Washington, D.C., with the National Institute of Health Project.

Jimmy Carter, National Commission on Neighborhoods Appointment of 15 Members to the Commission. Online by Gerhard Peters and John T. Woolley, The American Presidency Project https://www.presidency.ucsb.edu/node/243078

Filed Under



Simple Search of Our Archives