Jimmy Carter photo

National Commission on Air Quality Appointment of Seven Members.

April 20, 1978

The President today announced the appointment of seven persons as members of the National Commission on Air Quality. The Commission was created last August and will consist of 13 members, of whom 9 are appointed by the President and 4 are Members of Congress. The Commission has a maximum of 3 years to deliver its final report to the President and the Congress.

Those appointed today are:

RICHARD E. AYRES, a staff attorney for the Natural Resources Defense Council in Washington and executive director of the NRDG Environmental Lobby; TOM BRADLEY, mayor of Los Angeles;

ANNEMARIE F. CROCETTI, clinical associate professor at New York Medical College department of preventive medicine and adjunct professor in the school of education, health division, department of nutrition, at New York University;

JAY S. HAMMOND, Governor of Alaska;

JEANNE MALCHON, chair of the Pinellas County, Fla., Board of County Commissioners, and chair of the Florida Lung Association;

LLOYD McBRIDE, international president of the United Steelworkers of America;

HAROLD W. TSO, director of the Environmental Protection Commission for the Navajo Tribe in Window Rock, Ariz.

Jimmy Carter, National Commission on Air Quality Appointment of Seven Members. Online by Gerhard Peters and John T. Woolley, The American Presidency Project https://www.presidency.ucsb.edu/node/245300

Filed Under



Simple Search of Our Archives