Jimmy Carter photo

National Advisory Council on Vocational Education Appointment of 17 Members and Designation of Chairman.

August 16, 1979

The President today announced the appointment of 17 persons as members of the National Advisory Council on Vocational Education. They are:

PEGGY SUE ARMSTRONG, a junior at Iowa State University, majoring in animal science;

CHERYL J. COSTLEY, an expert on vocational education, who is director of education for Bill Knapp's Inc., of Battle Greek, Mich., where she is responsible for the development and administration of training and educational programs for all employees;

REV. JOHN R. ERWIN, senior chaplain with the Cook County Department of Corrections in Chicago, and founder of PAGE Institute, Inc., a nonprofit school offering adult basic education, vocational orientation and counseling to inmates of Cook County Jail;

KAREN MARIE CORNELIUS FENTON, director of the human resources development program of the Confederated Salish & Kootenai Tribes in Pablo, Mont.;

JOSEPH R. FITTIPALDI, coordinator for education of the New Jersey Catholic Conference and a former high school teacher and administrator;

CAROL SAUNDERS GIBSON, director of the education division of the National Urban League, whom the President has also designated Chairman of this Council;

ELI GINZBERG, the A. Barton Hepburn professor of economics at Columbia University's Graduate School of Business, director of the Conservation of Human Resources Project, and chairman of the National Commission for Manpower Policy;

LAWRENCE R. HAWKINS, a member of the Florida House of Representatives, who is a disabled veteran and an active campaigner for the rights of handicapped persons;

GLORIA T. JOHNSON, of Washington, D.C., director of education and women's activities for the International Union of Electrical Radio and Machine Workers;

HERNAN LAFONTAINE, superintendent of schools for the Hartford (Conn.) public schools, an expert on bilingual education, and a former high school teacher;

JOHN M. LIPTON, of Warren, Ark., a member of the Arkansas General Assembly and chairman of the Arkansas Advisory Council on Vocational Education;

ROMAN PUCINSKI, of Chicago, a former Member of the U.S. House of Representatives, where he was chairman of the Standing Committee on Select Education and the Standing Committee on General Education, now a Chicago alderman (reappointment);

JACK B. REIHL, of West Bend, Wis., secretary-treasurer of the Wisconsin State AFL-CIO and a member of the State Advisory Committee on Trade and Industrial Education and the Wisconsin State Apprenticeship Advisory Council for Industrial Crafts;

JOHN D. ROWLETT, a professor of industrial education and technology at Eastern Kentucky University, where he is also vice president for academic affairs and research and dean of the faculties;

JACK SILVERS, master of the Washington State Grange and a Yakima Valley fruit grower;

WILLIAM ASBURY STEMBRIDGE, SR., of Macon, Ga., a businessman who is vice chairman of the State Board of Education and serves on the State Vocational Committee; and

PATRICIA M. VASQUEZ, a San Antonio attorney who has been director of the Mexican American Legal Defense and Educational Fund's Chicana Rights Project.

Jimmy Carter, National Advisory Council on Vocational Education Appointment of 17 Members and Designation of Chairman. Online by Gerhard Peters and John T. Woolley, The American Presidency Project https://www.presidency.ucsb.edu/node/250336

Filed Under



Simple Search of Our Archives