Jimmy Carter photo

National Advisory Committee for Women Appointment of 40 Members.

June 20, 1978

The President today announced the appointment of 40 persons as members of the National Advisory Committee for Women. He also announced that Bella Abzug and Carmen Votaw will serve as Cochairpersons of the Committee, and that Judy Carter will be Honorary Chairperson.

The 40 persons appointed as members are:

BELLA ABZUG, of New York City, former Member of Congress and founder of the National Women's Political Caucus;

OWANAH ANDERSON, of Wichita Falls, Tex., member of the HEW Advisory Committee on Rights and Responsibilities of Women and of the Wichita Falls Commission on the Status of Women;

UNITA BLACKWELL, mayor of Mayersville, Miss., and a member of the board of Rural American Women;

ERMA BOMBECK, newspaper columnist and author;

CECILIA BURCIAGA, assistant provost of Stanford University;

MARJORIE BELL CHAMBERS, president of the American Association of University Women;

SEY CHASSLER, editor-in-chief of Redbook magazine;

MARY CRISP, cochair of the Republican National Committee;

MIRIAM I. CRUZ, administrative assistant to Chicago Mayor Michael Bilandic;

LAURA DE HERRERA, a Colorado State representative and member of the Mayor's Commission on Community Relations in Denver;

PIILANI C. DESHA, of Hilo, Hawaii, president of Business and Professional Women's Clubs;

DONNA E. DE VARONA, of New York City, member of the U.S. Olympic Committee and former Olympic swimmer;

GRETTA DEWALD, director of the women's division at the Democratic National Committee;

JUDITH HEUMANN, of Berkeley, Calif., deputy director of the Center for Independent Living;

KORYNE HORBAL, of Minneapolis, U.S. Representative on the U.N. Commission on the Status of Women and member of the DNC Women's Caucus;

MILDRED M. JEFFREY, of Detroit, president of the National Women's Political Caucus;

JEFFALYN JOHNSON, former associate director, dean, and senior professor at the Federal Executive Institute;

LANE KIRKLAND, secretary-treasurer of the AFL-CIO;

ODESSA KOMER, vice president of the International Union of United Auto Workers;

FLORINE KOOLE, assistant to the vice president of the Communications Workers of America, District 7;

ELIZABETH KOONTZ, assistant State superintendent of education for North Carolina;

ESTHER LANDA, of Salt Lake City, national president of the National Council of Jewish Women;

BROWNIE LEDBETTER, of Little Rock, legislative committee chair for the Organization of Business and Professional Women;

MARY HELEN MADDEN, of Arlington, Va., executive director of the National Council of Catholic Women;

BILLIE NAVE MASTERS, supervisor of teacher education at the University of California and member of the Indian Women's Caucus;

JOYCE MILLER, of New York City, president of the Coalition of Labor Union Women;

NANCY NEUMAN, second vice president of the League of Women Voters;

JEAN O'LEARY, of New York, coexecutive director of the National Gay Task Force;

BRENDA PARKER, of Happy, Tex., high school senior;

CLAIRE RANDALL, general secretary of the National Council of Churches of Christ in the U.S.A.;

CAROLYN REED, secretary-treasurer of Household Technicians of America and member of the Mayor's Commission on the Status of Women in New York City;

ANN RICHARDS, commissioner of Travis County, Tex.;

RICHARD ROSSIE, a Memphis, Tenn., attorney and former member of the board of directors of the Women's Resource Center of Memphis;

JILL RUCKELSHAUS, of Medina, Wash., member of the board of trustees of the University of Puget Sound;

ELEANOR SMEAL, president of the National Organization for Women;

TIN MYAING THEIN, of San Diego, Calif., cochair of the Asian and Pacific Minority Women's Caucus;

MARLO THOMAS, of Beverly Hills, actress and producer;

CARMEN DELGADO VOTAW, of Bethesda, Md., president of the National Conference of Puerto Rican Women;

MAXINE WATERS, of Los Angeles, member of the California Legislature and of the California Commission on the Status of Women;

ADDIE WYATT, of Chicago, international vice-president and director of women's affairs for the Amalgamated Meat Cutters Union.

Jimmy Carter, National Advisory Committee for Women Appointment of 40 Members. Online by Gerhard Peters and John T. Woolley, The American Presidency Project https://www.presidency.ucsb.edu/node/248799

Filed Under



Simple Search of Our Archives