Lyndon B. Johnson photo

Message to the Congress Transmitting Annual Reports of Four River Basin Commissions.

January 09, 1969

To the Congress of the United States:

I am proud to transmit the first annual reports of the four river basin commissions established under the Water Resources Planning Act of 1965.

That Act provides for the establishment of river basin commissions--if requested by the States in the appropriate area--to plan for the best use and development of rivers, their adjoining land and their resources.

In the last few years we have become more aware than ever that the quality of American life depends largely upon how we use-and conserve--our natural resources. The river basin commissions assure that the people within each area will have a voice in deciding how these resources are used. This new approach to planning, if it is successful, promises more efficient use of America's great natural and man-made wealth, and more attention to preserving the beauty and vitality of our environment.

The four commissions that have been established cover areas in 21 States. They are the Pacific Northwest River Basins Commission, the Souris-Red-Rainy River Basins Commission, the Great Lakes Basin Commission, and the New England River Basins Commission.

These annual reports reflect the accomplishments of each commission during Fiscal Year 1968. They describe existing problems-and potential problems--in the use of our river basins, as well as vast opportunities for their sound development.


The White House

January 9, 1969

Lyndon B. Johnson, Message to the Congress Transmitting Annual Reports of Four River Basin Commissions. Online by Gerhard Peters and John T. Woolley, The American Presidency Project

Filed Under



Simple Search of Our Archives