Dwight D. Eisenhower photo

Memorandum for the Heads of All Departments and Agencies of the Government

November 05, 1953

The following departments and agencies of the executive branch and their constituent agencies shall be subject to the limitations specified in section 2 of the Executive order entitled "Safeguarding Official Information in the Interests of the Defense of the United States":

A. Original Classification Authority Eliminated:

1. American Battle Monuments commission

2. Arlington Memorial Amphitheater Commission

3. Commission of Fine Arts

4. Committee on Purchases of Blind-Made Products

5. Committee for reciprocity Information

6. Commodity Exchange Commission

7. Export-Import Bank of Washington

8. Federal Deposit Insurance Corporation

9. Federal Mediation and Conciliation Service

10. Federal Reserve System

11. Federal Trade Commission

12. Housing and Home Finance Agency

13. Indian Claims Commission

14. Interstate Commerce Commission

15. Missouri Basin Survey Commission

16. National Capital Housing Authority

17. National Capital Park and Planning Commission

18. National Forest Reservation Commission

19 National Labor Relations Board

20. National Mediation Board

21. Railroad Retirement Board

22. Securities and Exchange Commission

23. Selective Service System

24. Smithsonian Institution

25. United States Tariff Commission

26. Veterans Administration

27. Veterans Education Appeals Board

28 War Claims Commission

B. Original Classification Authority Limited to Head of Agency:

1. Civil Aeronautics Board

2. Defense Transport Administration

3. Department of Agriculture

4. Department of Health, Education and Welfare

5. Department of the Interior

6. Department of Labor

7. Federal Communications Commission

8. Federal Power Commission

9. National Science Foundation

10. National Security Training Commission

11. Panama Canal Company

12. Post office Department

13. Reconstruction Finance Corporation

14. Renegotiation Board

15. Small Business Administration

16. Subversive Activities Control Board

17. Tennessee Valley Authority

C. Heads of departments and agencies not named herein shall limit the exercise of classified authority in accordance with section 2(c) of the order.



November 5, 1953

Dwight D. Eisenhower, Memorandum for the Heads of All Departments and Agencies of the Government Online by Gerhard Peters and John T. Woolley, The American Presidency Project https://www.presidency.ucsb.edu/node/267780

Simple Search of Our Archives