Bill Clinton photo

Memorandum on Emerging Democracies

August 10, 1995

Presidential Determination No. 95-35

Memorandum for the Secretary of State; the Secretary of Agriculture

Subject: Presidential Determination Under Section 1542(f) of the Food, Agriculture, Conservation and Trade Act of 1990, as Amended—Emerging Democracies

Pursuant to the authority vested in me by section 1542(f) of the Food, Agriculture, Conservation and Trade Act of 1990, as amended (7 U.S.C. 5622 note) (hereinafter "the Act"), I hereby determine that the following countries are taking the steps set forth in section 1542(f) of the Act to qualify as emerging democracies for purposes of that section:

Albania, Bangladesh, Belarus, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Bulgaria,

Cambodia, Croatia, Czech Republic, Egypt, El Salvador, Estonia, the Former

Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia, Ghana, Guatemala, Hungary, Jordan,

Kazakhstan, Latvia, Lithuania, Morocco, Namibia, Nicaragua,

Pakistan, Panama, the Philippines, Poland, Romania, Russia, Slovak

Republic, Slovenia, South Africa, Tanzania, Tunisia, Ukraine,

Yemen, and Zimbabwe.

In making this determination, I have considered the eligibility only of those countries for which programs are underway or currently contemplated by the Department of Agriculture.

The Secretary of State is authorized and directed to publish this determination in the Federal Register.

William J. Clinton

William J. Clinton, Memorandum on Emerging Democracies Online by Gerhard Peters and John T. Woolley, The American Presidency Project

Simple Search of Our Archives