Hillary Clinton photo

Hillary Clinton Campaign Press Release - Clinton Campaign Announces Nevada Women's Leadership Council

July 25, 2007

More than 100 Business and Community Leaders to Advise Campaign, Mobilize Women for Nevada Caucus

Hillary Clinton's Nevada campaign today announced the formation of the Nevada Women's Leadership Council, a group of prominent civic, business and community leaders endorsing Clinton's bid for the presidency. The council will advise the campaign, lead efforts to organize "Women for Hillary" in Nevada and play a key role in mobilizing women for the January 19 caucus.

"I am supporting Senator Clinton because she has the strength, compassion, wisdom and gravitas it will take to lead our nation through these challenging times to a new place of opportunity, prosperity and peace," said council member Pam Egan. "Senator Clinton has the skills to win and the experience to lead. It's her time."

Council member Sandra Mack added, "Throughout her career in public service, Hillary has been a champion for issues important to women and families at home and around the world – including economic equality, education and equal, human rights for all. I'm delighted to play a strategic role in Nevada to make history, by electing Hillary Clinton our next president."

"This council brings together an amazing group of diverse women leaders – from a wide variety of backgrounds, professions and regions throughout the state," said Clinton Nevada Chair Rory Reid. Their endorsement is indicative of the widespread support Hillary Clinton is inspiring among women around the country. It's exciting and humbling to have such a powerful group working on behalf of Senator Clinton in Nevada."

The founding members of Hillary Clinton's Nevada Women's Leadership Council, announced today, are:

Lucille Adin, Reno-Sparks NAACP and community activist

Dr. Marlene Adrian, Activist for Diversity and Equity

Jena Antonchuk, Public Relations Specialist

Suzy Baldwi, n, Rotary Member and Senior Advocate

Elaine Barkdull, Economic Development Specialist

Ranee Barsanti, Rancher

Wanda Batchelor, Chair, Stewart Community Council of the Washoe Tribe

Teresa Bell, co-chair of the National Women's Suffrage Day and Voter Activist

Michaelene Bilbray, Leader in Diabetes Awareness

Hannah Brown, Community Activist

Jessica Brown, President of Nevada NOW

Carol Burgeson, President of the Women's Democratic Club of Clark County

Debbie Cahill, Deputy Executive Director, NSEA

Virginia Cain, Former Democratic State Chair; former member, DNC

Beverly Carlino-Banta, Women and Children's Advocate

Liz Carrasco, Reproductive Rights Activist

Jordana Carroll, Communications Coach and Motivational Speaker

Lolita S. Catoner, Filipino Community Activist; Member Filipino-American Alliance of Nevada

Meg Cleary, Non-Profit Agency Executive

Venicia Considine, Law Student and Women's Rights Advocate

Dosheen Cook, Clinical Psychologist

Judy Corbisiero, Human Rights Activist

Karen Crutcher, Chair, Ft. McDermid Paiute Shoshone Tribes

Patricia Cunningham, Founder, Alliance for Social Justice

Jesse Danen, RN, MSN specializing in outpatient nursing; Active member in Nurses Organization for Veterans Affairs (NOVA)

Verlia Davis Hoggard, Formerly of Clark County Social Services, Community Activist

Marcia de Braga, Former Assemblywoman; Rancher and Writer

Frankie Sue Del Papa, Northern Nevada Co-Chair

Julianne Denham, Artist and Designer

Renee Diamond, Community Activist, Former State Legislator

Thalia Dondero, University Regent

Doris Dowden, Retired Federal IT Manager

Rochanne Downs, Vice-Chair, Fallon Pauite Shoshone Tribes

Denise Duarte, Arts and Women's Advocate

Pam Egan, Non-Profit Executive

Linda Faiss, Public Relations Executive

Dolores Feemster, Social Justice Advocate

Katherine Ferguson, Progressive

Mary Lee Fulkerson, Artist and Arts Activist

Bobbi Gang, Public Policy Advocate & Trainer

Denise Gerdes, Librarian

Rekaya Gibson, Emerge Graduate, Small Business Owner

Kathy Gillespie, Small Business Owner

Diana Glomb-Rogan, Former State Senator, Clinical Social Worker

Gertrude Gottschalk, Descendent of Pioneer Family, Elected 1st Secretary of Carson City Young Democrats in 1936

Joy Graber, Civil Litigation Attorney

Sharon Green, Attorney at Law

Myra Greenspun, Philanthropist

Kristen Hansen, Small Businesswoman and Political Activist

Jeannie Hua, Attorney at Law

Lena Johnson, Mayor of Lovelock

Gaye Johnston, Retired Teacher, Long-time County Party Official

Dinah Jordan, Political Activist and Women's Issues Advocate

Miriam "Mimi" Katz, Political Activist

Edythe Katz Yarchever, Community Activist

Anita Laruy, Community Activist

Jessica L. Ledbetter, Rancher

Rozita Lee, Community Activist

Marla Letizia, CEO and Founder of Big Mobile Traffic Ads Worldwide

Dr. Sandra Mack, Educator

Margaret Mark, Former President of League of Women Voters

Kate Marshall, Northern Nevada Co-Chair

Adriana Martinez, Past Chair of the Nevada State Democratic Party

Punam Mather, Community Activist

Valerie McNay, President Boulder City Branch of American Association of University Women

Mary Ellen McMullen, Community Volunteer and Higher Education Advocate

Joyce Melendez, Tribal Archivist- Reno Sparks Indian Colony

Gwen Migita, Representative of Diversity and Political Interests

Sandy Miller, Former First Lady of Nevada

Estella Morales, Activist

Evelyn Mount, Community Service Program Director

Dana Myers, Businesswoman

Dedee Nave, Community Activist and Volunteer

Vicky Orozko, Spanish Radio Station Executive

Maggie Plaster, Master's Degree in Public Affairs

Nancy Quon, Partner, Quon, Bruce, & Christensen Law Firm

Frances Ream, Long-time Political Activist

Margarita Rebollal, East Las Vegas Community Outreach Corporation

Cindy Reid, State Board of Education

Sherri Rice, Community Activist for Women, Children, Diversity, & Racial Justice; Health Care Advocate

Tammy Riggs, Washoe County Deputy District Attorney

Jennifer Ring, Professor of Political Science, UNR

Lori Roberts, Gaming Industry Marketing Manager

Kitty Rodman, Retired Business Owner and Lifetime Philanthropic & Education Benefactor

Beverly Rogers, Philanthropist

Nancy Romo, Retired Professional Events Coordinator

May Shelton, Retired Social Services Director; Long-time Advocate for Women and Children

Jackie Shropshire, Founder, Las Vegas Clark County Urban League

Stephanie Smith, City Councilwoman, North Las Vegas

Carissa Snedeker, Chair, Rural Nevada Democratic Caucus

Jean Stoess, Writer, Editor; 1st woman to serve on Washoe County Commission

Jill Switzer, President, Stonewall Democrats of Northern Nevada; Criminal Investigator, Washoe County

Bettye Thomas, Community Activist

Kelley Thomas Boyers, Health Care Strategist

Betty Titus, Campaign Activist and "Mama" to all

Dina Titus, Minority Leader, Nevada State Senate

Laura Vargas, Latino Caucus Leader

Jodi Perselle Warman, Insurance and Financial Planner

Anne Wellborn, Attorney at Law

Julie Wilcox, Public Agency Administrator

Claudine Williams, Gaming Pioneer and Philanthropist

Genia Williams, Chair, Walker River Pauite Tribe

Myrna Williams, Former Clark County Commissioner

Hazel Wong, Environmentalist

Joyce Woodhouse, Nevada State Senator

Hillary Clinton, Hillary Clinton Campaign Press Release - Clinton Campaign Announces Nevada Women's Leadership Council Online by Gerhard Peters and John T. Woolley, The American Presidency Project https://www.presidency.ucsb.edu/node/293706

Simple Search of Our Archives