Hillary Clinton photo

Hillary Clinton Campaign Press Release - Clinton Campaign Announces Illinois Steering Committee

November 30, 2007

The Clinton campaign today announced its Illinois Steering Committee, made up of community leaders from across the state who will mobilize grassroots support for Hillary leading up to Illinois' February 5th primary.

"Hillary is ready to lead on her first day in the White House and immediately begin delivering the change this country needs," said Jacqueline Jackson, Illinois philanthropist, business leader, and community activist.

"Hillary remains Illinois' favorite daughter, so it's no surprise that she's generated enthusiasm across the state," said Betsy Ebeling, who grew up with Hillary in Park Ridge.

"Her 35-year record fighting in the trenches for change makes Hillary the right choice for Illinois and America," said Tim Wright, former Director of Domestic Policy for Bill Clinton's '92 Campaign for President, former Chairman of the Export /Import Bank of the United States' Advisory Committee on Sub Saharan Africa and Chicago attorney.

"Americans are looking for a leader who can rebuild our standing in the world and tackle the great challenges we face at home," said Daniel Solis, Chicago City Alderman. "There's no question that Hillary Clinton is that leader."

"I have seen Hillary's intellect and ability up close, and she has what it takes to be an outstanding President," said Kevin O'Keefe, former Clinton White House official and Chicago attorney.

"I am honored to have such strong support from my home state," Clinton said. "Together we'll take our message of change across Illinois and this nation."


  • Valerie Alexander, Public Affairs Executive and Former Chief of Staff (Chicago) for Sen. Durbin
  • Thelma Andrews, Special Events Coordinator; Community Leader and Activist
  • Marcellus Barnes, International Representative, Amalgamated Transit Union
  • Victory Bell, Rockford City Alderman
  • Stella Black, Chairman, National Association of Women Business Owners
  • Andrew Boron, Community Activist
  • Patsy Bowles, Retired Speech Pathologist, Normal/Bloomington Elementary School System
  • Richard Boykin, Former Chief of Staff for Rep. Danny Davis; Partner, Barnes and Thornburg LLP
  • Bill Brandt, Business and Civic Leader; Democratic Party Activist
  • George Brown, Community Activist
  • Gay Bruhn, President, Illinois Organization for Women
  • Ken Christy, President, Illinois State Association of Letter Carriers
  • Rocco Claps, Party and Community Activist
  • Delmarie Cobb, Public Affairs Executive
  • Kevin Conlon, DNC Finance Committee Member; Public Affairs Executive
  • Michael Conway, US Army Veteran (1969-71)
  • Dr. Georgia Costello, Assistant Superintendent, St. Clair County Regional Office of Education
  • Ron Cox, Amalgamated Transit Union Local 416
  • Lynn Cutler, Democratic Party Activist
  • James Demus, Vice-President, Pastor United for Change
  • Emilia DiMenco, Executive Vice President, Harris Bank
  • Gary Duncan, Jefferson County State's Attorney
  • Christopher Dunn, Democratic Party Activist; Former General Counsel to Sen. Paul Simon
  • Betsy Ebeling, Longtime Friend of Hillary Clinton
  • Robyn Eulo, Vice President At-Large and Legislative Director, International Association of Machinists, District 141
  • Jack Franks, State Representative
  • Tavis Grant, President, 21st Century Alliance of Progressive Leaders; Bishop, Greater First Church
  • Neil Hartigan, Former Attorney General; Chairman, World Trade Center Illinois
  • Jacqueline Jackson, Philanthropist, Business Leader and Community Activist
  • Yusef Jackson, Business Leader and Community Activist
  • Darrell Jefferson, Amalgamated Transit Union Local 241
  • Lynn Kearney, Vice President, Illinois Federation of Teachers Executive Board; President of Local 540, Harlem Federation of Teachers
  • Gerri Kirchner, Vice Chair, Champaign County Democratic Party
  • John Knittle, Community Activist
  • Brian Krantz, Business Leader
  • Fred G. Lebed, President, Burris and Lebed Consulting
  • Sylvia Leonberger, Kane County Board Member
  • Jen Levine, Community and Political Activist
  • Jo Ann Long, Vice-President, 21st Century Alliance of Progressive Leaders, Senior Pastor, New Covenant Life Church
  • Mercedes Mallette, Community and Political Activist
  • Michael Matejka, Bloomington Committeeperson
  • Virgil Mayberry, Retired Union Member (United Auto Workers, Pattern-makers League of North America, International Association of Machinists)
  • Iola McGowen, Former First Vice Chair, Democratic Party of Illinois
  • Brian McPartlin, Former Clinton White House Appointee; Elk Grove Township Democratic Committeeman
  • Joan Murphy, Cook County Commissioner
  • Kevin O'Keefe, Former Clinton White House Official; Partner, O'Keefe, Lyons and Hynes, LLC
  • Patrick Ouimet, Chairman, McHenry County Democratic Committee
  • Alice Palmer, Former State Senator
  • Roger Poole, Directing Business Representative, Machinists District 9
  • J.B. Pritzker, National Campaign Co-Chair
  • Rocky A. Raikes, Chairman, LaSalle County Democratic Party
  • John Rednour, Mayor of DuQuoin
  • Bob Remer, Former 48th Ward Democratic Committeeman
  • Katie Remer, Retired Health Administrator
  • Jan Rowland, Political and Community Activist
  • Leslie Sanders, Reverend
  • Vicki Sheets, Community Leader
  • Nancy Shepherdson, Chair, Eighth District Democrats & Independents
  • Daniel Solis, Chicago City Alderman
  • Jim Taylor, Community Activist
  • Beatrice Mensah Tayui, Chairman of the Board, Illinois State Black Chamber of Commerce
  • Amelia Munoz Tucker, President, RWDSU Chicago Joint Board
  • Jaime Viteri, Founder, Chicago Latino Network
  • Elaine Weiss, Former Staff Director, American Bar Association Commission on Women
  • Tim Wright, Chicago Attorney, Former Clinton White House Appointee and Former Chief of Staff for Rep. Bobby Rush
  • Scott Ziomek, Director of Government Affairs, Metropolitan Chicago Healthcare Council
  • Stacey Zolt Hara, Former Illinois Communications Director to Sen. Dick Durbin

Hillary Clinton, Hillary Clinton Campaign Press Release - Clinton Campaign Announces Illinois Steering Committee Online by Gerhard Peters and John T. Woolley, The American Presidency Project https://www.presidency.ucsb.edu/node/293623

Simple Search of Our Archives