Photo of Nikki Haley

Haley Campaign Press Release - Nikki Haley for President Unveils Maine Leadership Team

February 27, 2024

AUGUSTA, Maine. — As large swaths of Republican primary voters indicate they do not support Donald Trump, Nikki Haley for President announced its Maine state leadership team, including elected officials, influential community members, and business leaders. Mainers head to the polls on Super Tuesday, March 5, 2024.

"Why Nikki? She's a former ambassador to the United Nations and South Carolina governor. A business woman. A military wife whose husband is an officer in the Army National Guard, currently deployed in Africa. A daughter of Indian immigrants and a mother of two. She's a leader who really cares," said former State Representative Jayne Crosby Giles, co-chair of Women for Nikki and co-chair of the Maine state leadership team.

"Americans are begging for a return to normalcy. They're tired of the division and they're ready for a leader who can unite the country and focus on what matters: getting our economy on track, securing our border, and setting our kids up for success," said former Senate Republican Leader Mary Small, co-chair of the Maine state leadership team.

"Mainers know what's at stake in this election. Republicans are looking for a change in leadership and someone who can focus on the issues, whether it's the border, the economy, or our national security," said Nikki Haley.

Haley's Maine Leadership Team:


  • Hon. Mary Small, Former Senate Republican Leader

  • Hon. Jayne Crosby Giles, Women for Nikki Chair, Former State Representative

  • Billy Thompson, Former House Chief of Staff, School Board Member

  • Tyler Washburn, Former School Board Chair


  • Hon. David Emery, Former Maine Congressman, Deputy Director US Arms Control Agency in the Reagan Administration

  • Hon. Mike Thibodeau, Former Senate President

  • Hon. Brian Langley, Former State Senator

  • Hon. Joyce Maker, Former State Senator

  • Hon. Wendy Ault, Former State Representative

  • Hon. Linwood Higgins, Former State Representative, Former GOP Floor Leader

  • Hon. Brian Hobart, Former State Representative

  • Hon. Meredith Strang Burgess, Former State Representative

  • Mike Giles, Business Leader

  • Matt Jacobson, Business Leader

  • Diane Johanson, Former State Senate Chief of Staff

  • Amy Spear Higgins, Grassroots & Community Leader

  • Carol Woodcock, Grassroots Leader

  • Eliza Woodcock, Grassroots Leader

Nikki Haley, Haley Campaign Press Release - Nikki Haley for President Unveils Maine Leadership Team Online by Gerhard Peters and John T. Woolley, The American Presidency Project

Simple Search of Our Archives