Photo of Nikki Haley

Haley Campaign Press Release - Farmers for Nikki Launches in Des Moines, Iowa

November 07, 2023

DES MOINES, Iowa —Today, Nikki Haley for President launched its newest coalition, Farmers for Nikki, in Des Moines, Iowa led by former President of the American Soybean Association and Iowa Soybean Association Ray Gaesser. Farmers for Nikki will rally grassroots support among farmers and rural Iowa communities for Haley's message of a strong and proud America.The five members of the Farmers for Nikki leadership team are leaders of various agricultural associations and industries. They hail from across the state: O'Brien County in northwest Iowa, Adams County in southwest Iowa, Appanoose County in southeast Iowa, and Polk County in central Iowa.

Read more about Farmers for Nikki in the Des Moines Register.

"I've looked for a strong leader to lead our great country. Someone with balance and respect, not childish name calling and turmoil. Someone who will influence and guide with our American values, domestically and abroad. Nikki Haley has proven herself as a South Carolina legislator, Governor, and Ambassador. She leads with those qualities – qualities that I believe in," said Farmers for Nikki Chair Ray Gaesser. "I'm tired of the turmoil, egos, and name calling. I want a president and leader who shows strength, balance, and respect. She grew up in a farming community in South Carolina, and understands and supports farmers. I wholeheartedly endorse Nikki for president, and am honored to chair Farmers for Nikki."

"Like many Iowans, Nikki grew up in a small, rural town where faith, family, and farming were always top of mind," said NHFP Iowa State Director Billy Mackey. "Here in Iowa, we're seeing Communist China infiltrate our agriculture industries and no one is better suited to combat that threat than Nikki Haley. She knows that Iowa farmers feed and fuel the world and will always have their backs."

Farmers For Nikki Leadership Team:

  • Ray Gaesser, Chair

    • Ray served as the President of the American Soybean Association for over a decade. He also served as President of the Iowa Soybean Association.

  • Kelly Nieuwenhuis, Co-Chair

    • Kelly has been farming for 36 years near Primghar, Iowa in O'Brien County, growing corn and soybeans. He also has part ownership in a hog finishing operation.

    • Kelly is the former President of Siouxland Energy Cooperative, a 65-million-gallon ethanol plant in Sioux Center, Iowa. He also previously served as the Iowa Corn Promotion Board President and is chair of the Iowa Corn Industrial Usage and U.S. Production Committee.

  • Mary Boote, Co-Chair

    • Mary is a veteran of Iowa campaigns and organizing efforts. She now serves as Chief Executive Officer of the Global Farmer Network. Through the Global Farmer Network, Mary works with farmers around the world to develop and deliver communication platforms that engage the farmers' perspective and voice as an integral part of the dialogue regarding the global agri-food system.

  • State Representative Austin Harris, Co-Chair

    • Austin was born and raised on his family's cattle farm in Moulton, Iowa, the same farm he works today.

    • He is one of the youngest members of the Iowa House of Representatives.

    • Austin formerly served as Deputy Chief of Staff to Congresswoman Miller-Meeks.

  • Chris Wehrman

    • Chris previously served as CEO of the National Corn Growers Association.

Nikki Haley, Haley Campaign Press Release - Farmers for Nikki Launches in Des Moines, Iowa Online by Gerhard Peters and John T. Woolley, The American Presidency Project

Simple Search of Our Archives