Jimmy Carter photo

Federal Farm Credit Board Nomination of Owen Cooper and Edgar C. Rutherford To Be Members.

September 20, 1977

The President today announced that he has nominated Owen Cooper and Edgar C. Rutherford to be members of the Federal Farm Credit Board, Farm Credit Administration, for terms expiring March 31, 1983.

Cooper, of Yazoo City, Miss., would replace Ernest G. Spivey, term expired. Cooper was born April 19, 1908, in Warren County, Miss. He received a B.S. in agriculture from Mississippi State University in 1929, an M.A. in political science and economics from the University of Mississippi in 1936, and graduated from Jackson School of Law in 1938.

Cooper was a teacher of vocational agriculture from 1930 to 1935 and served as assistant director of the Mississippi State Planning Commission from 1936 to 1938. From 1938 to 1949, he was executive director of the Mississippi Farm Bureau Federation. He was chief executive officer of Mississippi Chemical Corp., from 1949 until his retirement in 1973.

Cooper is a member and former director of the Mississippi Council of Farm Cooperatives and the National Council of Farm Cooperatives. He is former chairman of the board of Mississippi Action for Progress. He is a member of the executive committee of the Southern Baptist Convention and the board of directors of the Mississippi Religious Leadership Council.

Rutherford, of Brawley, Calif., would replace Earl S. Smittcamp, term expired. Rutherford was born February 9, 1916, in Brawley, Calif. Since 1937 he has been a farmer and farmland owner in the Imperial Valley of California. He has also raised cattle since 1937. Rutherford was director of the Federal Land Bank Association of ElCentro, Calif., for 10 years.

Jimmy Carter, Federal Farm Credit Board Nomination of Owen Cooper and Edgar C. Rutherford To Be Members. Online by Gerhard Peters and John T. Woolley, The American Presidency Project https://www.presidency.ucsb.edu/node/242179

Filed Under



Simple Search of Our Archives