William McKinley photo

Executive Order

February 03, 1899

I, William McKinley, President of the United States, by virtue of the authority vested in me by Sections 3141 and 3142 of the Revised Statutes of the United States, hereby order:

That the counties of Alger, Baraga, Chippews, Delta, Dickinson, Gogebic, Houghton, Iron, Keweenaw, Luce, Mackinac, Marquette, Menominee, Ontonagon and Schoolcroft, now a part of the First Internal Revenue Collection District of Michigan be transferred to and made a part of the Fourth Internal Revenue Collection District of Michigan.


William McKinley, Executive Order Online by Gerhard Peters and John T. Woolley, The American Presidency Project https://www.presidency.ucsb.edu/node/205941

Simple Search of Our Archives