Lyndon B. Johnson photo

Executive Order 11147—Creating an Emergency Board to Investigate Disputes Between the Carriers Represented by the National Railway Labor Conference and Certain of Their Employees

March 17, 1964

WHEREAS disputes between the carriers represented by the National Railway Labor Conference, designated in List A attached hereto and made a part hereof, and certain of their employees represented by the International Brotherhood of Boilermaker's, Iron Ship Builders, Blacksmiths, Forgers and Helpers; Brotherhood of Railway Carmen of America; International Brotherhood of Electrical Workers; International Association of Machinists; Sheet Metal Workers' International Association; International Brotherhood of Firemen, Oilers, Helpers, Round House and Railway Shop Laborers functioning through the Railway Employees' Department, AFL-CIO, labor organizations; and

WHEREAS these disputes have not heretofore been adjusted under the provisions of the Railway Labor Act, as amended; and

WHEREAS these disputes, in the judgment of the National Mediation Board threaten substantially to interrupt interstate commerce to a degree such as to deprive the country of essential transportation service:

NOW, THEREFORE, by virtue of the authority vested in me by Section 10 of the Railway Labor Act, as amended (45 U.S.C. 160), I hereby create a board of three members, to be appointed by me, to investigate these disputes. No member of the board shall be pecuniarily or otherwise interested in any organization of railroad employees or any carrier.

The board shall report its findings to the President with respect to the disputes within thirty days from the date of this order.

As provided by Section 10 of the Railway Labor Act, as amended, from this date and for thirty days after the board has made its report to the President, no change, except by agreement, shall be made by the carriers represented by the National Railway Labor Conference, or by their employees, in the conditions out of which the disputes arose.


The White House,

March 17, 1964.

List A


Akron, Canton & Youngstown Railroad Company

Ann Arbor Railroad Company

Baltimore and Ohio Railroad Company

Baltimore & Ohio Chicago Terminal Railroad Company

Staten Island Rapid Transit Railway Company

Strouds Creek and Muddlety Railroad

Bangor and Aroostook Railroad

Bessemer and Lake Erie Railroad

Boston and Maine Railroad

Brooklyn Eastern District Terminal

Buffalo Creek Railroad

Canadian National Railways

Lines in the United States

St. Lawrence Region

Great Lakes Region

Canadian Pacific Railway Company

Central Railroad Company of New Jersey

New York & Long Branch Railroad Company

Central Vermont Railway

Chicago Union Station Company

Cincinnati Union Terminal Company

Dayton Union Railway Company

Delaware and Hudson Railroad Corporation

Detroit and Toledo Shore Line Railroad Company

Detroit Terminal Railroad

Detroit, Toledo and Ironton Railroad Company

Erie-Lackawanna Railroad Company

Grand Trunk Western Railroad Company

Indianapolis Union Railway Company

Lehigh and Hudson River Railway Company

Lehigh Valley Railroad

Maine Central Railroad Company

Portland Terminal Company

Monon Railroad

Monongahela Railway Company

Montour Railroad Company

New York Central System

New York Central Railroad Company

New York District

Grand Central Terminal

Eastern District

Boston & Albany Division

Western District

Northern District

Southern District

Indiana Harbor Belt Railroad Company

Chicago River & Indiana Railroad Company

Pittsburgh & Lake Erie Railroad Company

Lake Erie & Eastern Railroad Company

Cleveland Union Terminals Company

New York, Chicago & St. Louis Railroad Company

New York, New H4aven & Hartford Railroad Company

New York, Susquehanna & Western Railroad

New York Dock Railway

Pittsburgh & West Virginia Railway Company

Reading Company

Toledo Terminal Railroad Company

Washington Terminal Company

Western Maryland Railway Company


Alton and Southern Railroad

Atchison, Topeka & Santa Fe Railway

Gulf, Colorado and Santa Fe Railway

Panhandle and Santa Fe Railway

Belt Railway Company of Chicago

Butte, Anaconda and Pacific Railway

Camas Prairie Railroad

Chicago & Eastern Illinois Railroad

Chicago & Illinois Midland Railway

Chicago and North Western Railway (Including the former C.St.P.M. & O., M. & St.L., L. & M., M.I. and Railway Transfer Company of the City of Minneapolis)

Chicago and Western Indiana Railroad

Chicago, Burlington & Quincy Railroad

Chicago Great Western Railway

Chicago, Milwaukee, St. Paul and Pacific Railroad

Chicago, Rock Island and Pacific Railroad

Chicago, West Pullman and Southern Railroad

Colorado and Southern Railway

Colorado and Wyoming Railway

Denver and Rio Grande Western Railroad

Des Moines Union Railway

Duluth, Missabe and Iron Range Railway

Duluth Union Depot & Transfer Company

Duluth, Winnipeg & Pacific Railway

Elgin, Joliet and Eastern Railway

Fort Worth and Denver Railway

Galveston, Houston and Henderson Railroad

Great Northern Railway

Green Bay and Western Railroad

Houston Belt & Terminal Railway

Illinois Central Railroad

Illinois Northern Railway

Illinois Terminal Railroad

Joint Texas Division of the C.R.I. & P. RR and Ft. Worth & Denver Railway

Kansas City Southern Railway

Kansas City Terminal Railway

Kansas, Oklahoma & Gulf Railway

Midland Valley Railroad

Lake Superior & Ishpeming Railroad

Lake Superior Terminal and Transfer Railway

Los Angeles Junction Railway

Louisiana & Arkansas Railway

Manufacturers Railway

Minneapolis, Northfield and Southern Railway

Minnesota Transfer Railway

Missouri-Kansas-Texas Railroad

Missouri Pacific Railroad

Missouri-Illinois Railroad

Northern Pacific Railway

Northern Pacific Terminal Company of Oregon

Northwestern Pacific Railroad

Ogden Union Railway and Depot Company

Peoria and Pekin Union Railway Company

Port Terminal Railroad Association

Pueblo Joint Interchange Bureau

St. Joseph Terminal Railroad

St. Louis-San Francisco Railway

St. Louis, San Francisco & Texas Railway

St. Louis Southwestern Railway

Saint Paul Union Depot Company

San Diego & Arizona Eastern Railway

Soo Line Railroad

Southern Pacific Company (Pacific Lines)

Southern Pacific Company (Texas and Louisiana Lines)

Spokane, Portland and Seattle Railway

Oregon Trunk Railway

Oregon Electric Railway

Terminal Railroad Association of St. Louis

Texas and Pacific Railway

Abilene and Southern Railway

Fort Worth Belt Railway

Texas-New Mexico Railway

Weatherford, Mineral Wells and Northwestern Railway Texas Mexican Railway

Texas Pacific-Missouri Pacific Terminal Railroad of New Orleans

Toledo, Peoria & Western Railroad

Union Pacific Railroad

Union Railway (Memphis)

Union Terminal Company (Dallas)

Wabash Railroad

Western Pacific Railroad

Wichita Terminal Association

Yakima Valley Transportation Company


Atlanta & West Point Railroad

Western Railway of Alabama

Atlanta Joint Terminals

Atlantic Coast Line Railroad

Chesapeake & Ohio Railway

Clinchfield Railroad

Georgia Railroad

Gulf, Mobile & Ohio Railroad

Kentucky & Indiana Terminal Railway

Louisville & Nashville Railroad

Norfolk Southern Railway

Norfolk & Portsmouth Belt Line Railroad

Norfolk & Western Railway

Richmond, Fredericksburg & Potomac Railroad

Seaboard Air Line Railway

Lyndon B. Johnson, Executive Order 11147—Creating an Emergency Board to Investigate Disputes Between the Carriers Represented by the National Railway Labor Conference and Certain of Their Employees Online by Gerhard Peters and John T. Woolley, The American Presidency Project

Simple Search of Our Archives