Ted Cruz photo

Cruz Campaign Press Release - Cruz for President Announces Expansion of South Carolina Leadership Team

September 15, 2015

Adds four state co-chairs and dozens of members to State Leadership Team

HOUSTON, Texas — Today, U.S. Sen. Ted Cruz, R-Texas, announced an expansion of his South Carolina Leadership Team, including four additional state co-chairs, as well as dozens of county leaders, activists, and a growing pastors coalition.

Sen. Cruz added South Carolina State Representative Wendy Nanney and her husband Register of Deeds Tim Nanney of Greenville, along with business owners and Christian leaders Joe and Gladys Grimaud of Chapin as state co-chairs.

"I am honored to have conservative stalwarts Tim and Wendy Nanney and Joe and Gladys Grimaud join as co-chairs of our South Carolina effort," Sen. Cruz said. "Rep. Nanney has been a consistent conservative and prolific leader on life issues. Tim and Wendy's deep ties to community service and the faith-based community in the Upstate will give our campaign a significant boost throughout the state. The Grimauds are business owners, Christian leaders, and have a strong connection to the veteran community, giving them a unique perspective that will help us get our message out. I can't thank them enough for their service to our country and their support for our campaign."

Rounding out the leadership team, Cruz has added several members from across the state. The group includes small business owners, Republican women and GOP officers, Tea Party leaders, municipal elected officials, pastors, policy experts, faith-based community leaders, and Millennials.

"I appreciate the diversity and breadth of knowledge and experience in this group of leaders," Sen. Cruz added. "Their participation on the State Leadership Team ensures that our message of consistent conservatism and standing up to the Washington Cartel continues to spread. With this team our campaign will be very competitive in the Palmetto State."

State Leadership Team Members:

Celia Anderson, Moore

Dr. Tony Beam, Greer

Richard Smyrl Creed, Elgin

Kathleen Crosby, Aiken

Gladys and Joe Grimaud, Chapin

Ken Hagerty, Mt. Pleasant

Diane Hardy, Greenville

Elliott Kelley, Easley (Millennials State Director, BJU Student)

Rev. Scott Lewellyn, Campobello

Debbie Myers, Lexington

South Carolina State Rep. Wendy and Tim Nanney, Greenville

County and Faith-Based Leaders:

Greg Addison, Union

Judy and Steven Anderson, Summerville

Katy and Clifton Baker, Barnwell

Scott Bell, Moncks Corner

Dr. Todd Black, Boiling Springs

Rich Bolen, Lexington

Sam Brogan, Greenwood

Bill Burns, Beaufort

Margaret Burns, Spartanburg

Zackary Chapman, Cheraw

Chad Cheras, Clio

Duane and Karen Christopher, Rock Hill

Terry Cummings, Ridgeway

Pat Dansbury, Jasper

Pastor Mike Gonzales, Columbia

Mandy and Adam Grant, Simpsonville

Carol Hall, Westminster

Heidi Mercer Haynes, Moncks Corner

Rev. Gary Hensley, Spartanburg

Julie Hershey, Greenville

Mary Hill, Bishopville

Sam Hogan, Greenville (USC Student)

Sandra Hunter-Lewis, Prosperity

Rev. Todd Johnson, Taylors

Rev. Jeff Kelley, Easley

Phyllis Kelley, Easley

Kris Alan Kelly, Murrells Inlet

Rev. Kok Ksor, Spartanburg

Pastor Malcolm Lance, Taylors

Ron Nester, Orangeburg

Rev. Gene Scott Lewellen, Spartanburg

Deb Marks, Columbia

Pastor Roger McCullough, Roebuck

Margaret Mitchell, Rock Hill

Alex Morales, Columbia

Shelby Price, Kershaw

Youth Pastor Mitch Prosser, Lugoff

Rev. Randy Riddle, Conway

Dale Robinson, Union (former County Supervisor)

Dr. Glen L. Robinson, Greenville

Cindy Schafer, Bonneau

Peter Simms, Taylors

Franklin Y. Smith, Summerville

Rev. Robert Smith, Boiling Springs

Rick Tate, Easley

Linda Trotter, Dalzell

Konnie Wilson, Bluffton

Marcia and Steve Yaffe, Rock Hill

Ted Cruz, Cruz Campaign Press Release - Cruz for President Announces Expansion of South Carolina Leadership Team Online by Gerhard Peters and John T. Woolley, The American Presidency Project https://www.presidency.ucsb.edu/node/314752

Simple Search of Our Archives