Joe Biden

Biden Campaign Press Release - Over 40 Alaska Leaders Endorse Joe Biden for President

April 03, 2020

Today leaders from across Alaska announced their endorsement of Joe Biden for President of the United States.

"Challenging times like the ones we are now experiencing demonstrate that we need trusted, experienced and thoughtful leadership at the very top," said Fran Ulmer, Former Lieutenant Governor of Alaska. "When our new President is sworn in next January, there will be no time for on the ground training. That's why I and so many Alaskans are proud to endorse Joe Biden for President. Joe is a steady hand who is best-suited to lead our country and provide the common sense and good judgment essential to our future."

Today's endorsements include:

  • Virginia Allen, Community Leader
  • Margo Bellamy, Anchorage School Board Member
  • Paul Bowen, Community Leader
  • Eric Croft, Former Alaska State Representative
  • Paula DeLaiarro, Community Leader
  • Heidi Drygas, Former Commissioner, Alaska Department of Labor and Workforce Development
  • David Dunsmore, Alaska Democratic Party State Central Committee Member
  • Gordon Glaser, President of the Anchorage Senior Center
  • David Guttenberg, Former Alaska State Representative
  • Frank Gwartney, Alaska Democratic Party State Central Committee Member
  • Brooke Hansen, Community Leader
  • Celeste Hodge Growden, Community Leader
  • Grier Hopkins, Alaska State Representative
  • Selena Hopkins-Kendell, Community Leader
  • Abel Hopson-Suvlu, Alaska Democratic Party State Central Committee Member
  • Doris Hugo Shavings, Community Leader
  • Katherine Jernstrom, Community Leader
  • Jonathan Kreiss Tomkins, Alaska State Representative
  • Adam Lees, Alaska Democratic Party State Central Committee Member
  • Jim Lottsfeldt, Community Leader
  • Reid Magdanz, Community Leader
  • Nathan Ord, Fisherman
  • Larry Ostrovsky, Community Leader
  • Kurt Parkan, Former Deputy Commissioner, Alaska Department of Transportation and Public Facilities
  • Katherine Pfeiffer, Executive Secretary, Alaska Democratic Party
  • Charlie Procknow, Community Leader
  • Leslie Ridle, Former Commissioner, Alaska Department of Administration
  • Doug Robbins, Climate Caucus Chair, Alaska Democratic Party
  • John Roderick, Former Mayor of the Municipality of Anchorage
  • Elias Rojas, Chair of the LGBTQ+ Caucus, Alaska Democratic Party
  • Susan Ruddy, Founding Director, The Nature Conservancy of Alaska and Past President, Providence Alaska Foundation
  • Sandra Schubert, Community Leader
  • Shea Siegert, Small Business Owner
  • Mickey Stickman, International Vice Chair, Arctic Athabaskan Council and Former First Chief, Nulato Tribal Council
  • Gilbert Stokes, Delegate, Central Council of the Tlingit and Haidaa Indian Tribes of Alaska
  • Joe Thomas, Former Alaska State Senator
  • Mike Wenstrup, Former Chair, Alaska Democratic Party
  • Brian Whittle, Former Member, Anchorage Assembly
  • Mark Wiggin, Former Deputy Commissioner, Alaska Department of Natural Resources
  • Mike Williams, Tribal Leader
  • Adam Wool, Alaska State Representative
  • Verner Wilson III, Environmental Community Leader

Combined with last week's announcement, more than 80 prominent Alaska leaders have publicly endorsed Joe Biden for President. Biden for President has previously announced more than 2,500 endorsements from national, state, and local leaders, including current and former U.S. senators and representatives, governors, state elected officials, community leaders, and national security professionals.

The health and safety of our staff, supporters, and the general public is Biden for President's number one priority. During this pandemic, we are calling on all voters to follow social distancing guidelines to slow the spread of COVID-19. Officials with the Alaska Democratic Party have issued precautions to ensure you can exercise your right to vote by holding a primary that is only vote-by-mail. Learn more at

Joseph R. Biden, Biden Campaign Press Release - Over 40 Alaska Leaders Endorse Joe Biden for President Online by Gerhard Peters and John T. Woolley, The American Presidency Project

Simple Search of Our Archives