Joe Biden

Biden Campaign Press Release - Biden for President and Friends of Bernie Sanders Announce Leaders of Biden-Sanders Unity Task Forces

May 13, 2020

Today, Biden for President and Friends of Bernie Sanders released the following statements on the members named to the Biden-Sanders Unity Task Forces.

"A united party is key to defeating Donald Trump this November and moving our country forward through an unprecedented crisis. As we work toward our shared goal, it is especially critical that we not lose sight of the pressing issues facing Americans," said Vice President Joe Biden. "From health care to reforming our justice system to rebuilding a more inclusive and fair economy, the work of the task forces will be essential to identifying ways to build on our progress and not simply turn the clock back to a time before Donald Trump, but transform our country."

"In the midst of the unprecedented economic and pandemic crises we face, the Democratic Party must think big, act boldly, and fight to change the direction of this country," said Senator Bernie Sanders. "To create an agenda that the working class of this country desperately needs, and moves us toward a more just society, we must solicit the best ideas. I commend Joe Biden for working together with my campaign to assemble a group of leading thinkers and activists who can and will unify our party in a transformational and progressive direction."

The full joint announcement is available below.

Vice President Joe Biden and Senator Bernie Sanders have named a diverse group of respected leaders and experts to Biden-Sanders Unity Task Forces to explore possible policy initiatives in six areas covering: climate change, criminal justice reform, economy, education, health care, and immigration. Biden and Sanders also appointed Analilia Mejia of Friends of Bernie Sanders and Carmel Martin of Biden for President as representatives of the respective campaigns to coordinate and support the work of the Task Forces.

The Task Forces will meet in advance of the Democratic National Convention to make recommendations to the DNC Platform Committee and to Vice President Biden directly. Building upon the work of the Democratic campaigns to date, the ultimate goal of the Unity Task Forces is to develop the most successful possible agenda for Democrats in 2020.

Co-Chairs: Chiraag Bains, Rep. Karen Bass, Rep. Marcia Fudge, Dr. Heather Gautney, Marielena Hincapié, Rep. Pramila Jayapal, former Secretary of State John Kerry, former U.S. Surgeon General Vivek Murthy, Sara Nelson, Rep. Alexandria Ocasio-Cortez, Rep. Lucille Roybal-Allard, and Rep. Bobby Scott.

Biden-Sanders Unity Task Forces
Climate Change
Rep. Kathy Castor
Kerry Duggan
Catherine Flowers
Former Secretary of State John Kerry, Co-chair
Rep. Conor Lamb
Former EPA Administrator Gina McCarthy
Rep. Donald McEachin
Rep. Alexandria Ocasio-Cortez, Co-chair
Varshini Prakash

Criminal Justice Reform
TN State Senator Raumesh Akbari
Chiraag Bains, Co-chair
SC State Rep. Justin Bamberg
Former Acting Assistant Attorney General Vanita Gupta
Former Attorney General Eric Holder
Symone Sanders
Rep. Bobby Scott, Co-chair
County Supervisor Stacey Walker

Rep. Karen Bass, Co-chair
Dr. Jared Bernstein
Professor Darrick Hamilton
Dr. Ben Harris
Professor Stephanie Kelton
Sara Nelson, Co-chair
Lee Saunders
Sonal Shah

Professor Alejandro Adler
Rep. Marcia Fudge, Co-chair
Lily Eskelsen García
Professor Heather Gautney, Co-chair
Maggie Thompson
Christie Vilsack
Randi Weingarten
Professor Hirokazu Yoshikawa

Health Care
Dr. Don Berwick
Dr. Abdul El-Sayed
Professor Sherry Glied
Mary Kay Henry
Rep. Pramila Jayapal, Co-chair
Chris Jennings
Rep. Robin Kelly
Former Surgeon General Vivek Murthy, Co-chair

Cristóbal Alex
Rep. Veronica Escobar
Marisa Franco
Juan Gonzalez
Marielena Hincapié, Co-chair
NV Lieutenant Governor Kate Marshall
Rep. Lucille Roybal-Allard, Co-chair
Javier Valdés

Joseph R. Biden, Biden Campaign Press Release - Biden for President and Friends of Bernie Sanders Announce Leaders of Biden-Sanders Unity Task Forces Online by Gerhard Peters and John T. Woolley, The American Presidency Project

Simple Search of Our Archives