Bill Clinton photo

Appointment for the J. William Fulbright Foreign Scholarship Board

November 12, 1993

The President appointed four members today to the J. William Fulbright Foreign Scholarship Board, which selects students, scholars, teachers, and trainees to participate in educational exchanges as Fulbright scholars. It also finances educational activities for Americans abroad and for foreign citizens in the United States and promotes American studies in foreign countries and foreign language training and area training in the United States. The Board is comprised of 12 members, appointed by the President. The new members appointed today are Victoria Murphy of Maine, Hoyt Purvis of Arkansas, Robert Rose of Connecticut, and Lee Williams of Arkansas.

"Like many Arkansans, I have long regarded Senator William Fulbright as both a role model and a mentor," said the President. "The Fulbright scholarships are his most lasting achievement. I trust that these four Board members, two of whom served on his staff, will work to preserve his legacy."

NOTE: Biographies of the appointees were made available by the Office of the Press Secretary. The Office of the Press Secretary also issued a clarification which stated that the appointment of Hoyt Purvis would take effect on January 1, 1994, while the other appointments were effective immediately.

William J. Clinton, Appointment for the J. William Fulbright Foreign Scholarship Board Online by Gerhard Peters and John T. Woolley, The American Presidency Project

Filed Under



Simple Search of Our Archives