Ronald Reagan picture

Appointment of 44 Members of the President's Task Force on Private Sector Initiatives, and Designation of Chairman

December 02, 1981

The President today announced the appointment of the following individuals to be members of the President's Task Force on Private Sector Initiatives. The President has announced that C. William Verity, Jr., will serve as Chairman.

William Aramony, president, United Way of America, Alexandria, Va.

William J. Baroody, Jr., president, American Enterprise Institute, Washington, D.C.

Helen G. Boosails, mayor, city of Lincoln, Nebr. William R. Bricker, national director, Boys Clubs of America, New York, N.Y.

Barber B. Conable, Jr., Member, U.S. House of Representatives, Washington, D.C.

J. Richard Conder, president, National Association of Counties, Rockingham, N.C. Terence Cardinal Cooke, archbishop of New York.

Walter G. Davis, director, Department of Community Services, AFL-CIO, Washington, D.C.

Kenneth N. Dayton, chairman of the executive committee, Dayton-Hudson Corp., Minneapolis, Minn.

Pierre S. du Pont IV, Governor, State of Delaware.

David Durenberger, Member, U.S. Senate, Washington, D.C. Luis A. Ferre, former Governor of Puerto Rico.

John H. Filer, chairman, Aetna Casualty & Life Co., Hartford, Conn. Max M. Fisher, Detroit, Mich.

John Gardner, chairman, Independent Sector, Washington, D.C.

Daniel Gilbert, president, Eureka College, Eureka, Ill.

Jean L. Harris, secretary of human resources, Commonwealth of Virginia, Richmond, Va.

James S. Henry, president, Center for Public Resources, New York, N.Y.

E. V. Hill, pastor, Mt. Zion Baptist Church, Los Angeles, Calif.

Dee Jepsen, advisory board member, STEP Foundation (Strategies to Eliminate Poverty), Washington, D.C.

Michael S. Joyce, executive director, John M. Olin Foundation, New York, N.Y.

Edward J. Kiernan, president, International Union of Police, Washington, D.C.

Arthur Levitt, Jr., chairman, American Stock Exchange, New York, N.Y.

Robert D. Lilley, chairman, Local Initiatives Support Corp., New York, N.Y.

Henry Lucas, Jr., chairman, New Coalition for Economic and Social Change, San Francisco, Calif.

Leslie L. Luttgens, chairman, Council on Foundations, the Rosenberg Foundation, San Francisco, Calif.

Richard W. Lyman, president, Rockefeller Foundation, New York, N.Y.

Cornell C. Maier, chairman, Kaiser Aluminum & Chemical Corp., Oakland, Calif.

Thomas S. Monson, elder, Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints, Salt Lake City, Utah.

Robert Mosbacher, Jr., vice president, Mosbacher Production Co., Houston, Tex.

Franklin D. Murphy, chairman of the executive committee, Times Mirror Co., Los Angeles, Calif.

William C. Norris, chairman and chief executive officer, Control Data Corp.

Frank Pace, Jr., chairman and chief executive officer, National Executive Service Corp., New York, N.Y.

Thomas Pauken, Director, ACTION, Washington, D.C.

George Romney, chairman, National Center for Citizen Involvement, Arlington, Va.

James W. Rouse, chairman, the Rouse Co., Columbia, Md.

Andrew C. Sigler, chairman and chief executive officer, Champion International, Stamford, Conn.

Ellen Sulzberger Straus, president, WMCA Radio, New York, N.Y.

Leon Sullivan, founder, Opportunities Industrialization Center, Zion Baptist Church, Philadelphia, Pa.

Alexander Trowbridge, president, National Association of Manufacturers, Washington, D.C.

C. William Verity, Jr., chairman, Armco Steel, inc., Middletown, Ohio.

William S. White, president, C. S. Mott Foundation, Flint, Mich.

Jeri J. Winger, first vice president, General Federation of Womens Clubs, Washington, D.C.

Thomas H. Wyman. president, CBS, Inc., New York, N.Y.

Ronald Reagan, Appointment of 44 Members of the President's Task Force on Private Sector Initiatives, and Designation of Chairman Online by Gerhard Peters and John T. Woolley, The American Presidency Project

Filed Under



Simple Search of Our Archives