Ronald Reagan picture

Appointment of 29 Members of the National Highway Safety Advisory Committee

June 17, 1982

The President today announced his intention to appoint the following individuals to be members of the National Highway

Safety Advisory Committee:

Richard L. Berkley has been serving as mayor of Kansas City, Mo., since 1979. He was born June 29, 1931. He will succeed Sheila D. Sidles.

Matthew J. Binder is president of Humer-Binder Co., Inc., in New York City. He was born January 14, 1917. He will succeed Daniel Patrick Kavanaugh.

James H. Brennan is chairman of the board and president of the Brennan Industrial Truck Co. in Toledo, Ohio. He was born May 17, 1926. He will succeed William Boone Darden.

Russell I. Brown is a semi-retired traffic safety consultant. He resides in Rockville, Md., and was born April 4, 1925. He will succeed John S. Trees.

Harold Coker is president of Coker Tire Co. in Chattanooga, Tenn. He was born December 24, 1929. He will succeed Peter J. Allen.

Walter W. Gray, Jr., is professor of health and safety and director of Indiana State University Driver and Traffic Safety Instructional Demonstration Center. He resides in Terre Haute, Ind., and was born May 26, 1919. He will succeed Sandra Joan Thomson.

Peter Griskivich is vice president of the motor truck manufacturers division of Motor Vehicle Manufacturers Association in Washington, D.C. He was born September 8, 1923. He will succeed Harper Brewer, Jr.

Michael J. Hermreck is president of M. J. Hermreck, Inc., in Nipomo, Calif. He was born February 2, 1920. He will succeed Carl E. Serna.

Lexie Herrin is with Von Haeneld-Herrin and Associates, accident reconstruction engineers, in Glendale, Calif. He was born May 17, 1925. He will succeed Daniel F. Portis.

Henry Edward Hudson is presently serving as Commonwealth's attorney for Arlington County, Va. He was born July 24, 1947. He will succeed Jack O. Hicks.

Michael L. Johnson is coroner for Ada County, Idaho. He was born July 9, 1954. He will succeed Howard J. Wigder.

G. Lawrence Keller is senior vice president-corporate development, of the Coleman Co., Inc., in Wichita, Kans. He was born May 18, 1917. He will succeed Laurence P. Ourso.

Joanne Corday Kozberg is with the Coro Foundation in Los Angeles, Calif. She was born July 4, 1944. She will succeed James C. Schultz.

Dan Heflin Kuykendall, Sr., is president of DK Consultants, Inc., in Washington, D.C. He was born July 9, 1924. He will succeed Harold T. Johnson.

George A. Luciano is secretary of public safety for the Commonwealth of Massachusetts, Boston. He was born January 17, 1927. He will succeed Robert William Landon.

Paul R. Meyer, Jr., is professor of orthopedic surgery and director, spinal cord injury program at Northwestern University Medical School in Chicago, Ill. He was born November 2, 1931. He will succeed Jane Hardy Cease.

Anatole Milunas has been with DeLeuw Cather and Co. in Chicago, Ill., since 1963. He was born August 3, 1926. He will succeed R. Adams Cowley.

Stanley J. Preebe is a consultant and adviser on industrial sales based in Cleveland, Ohio. He was born December 7, 1918. He will succeed Archie G. Richardson, Jr.

J.T. Quigg is serving as State senator for Washington State. He resides in Aberdeen, Wash., and was born June 15, 1947. He will succeed Todd Renfrow.

William A. Roper, Jr., is consultant, DNS Associates, Inc., in Lexington, Mass. He was born January 27, 1957. He will succeed Marilyn Berry Thompson.

John W. Ruger is retired. He was with General Motors Acceptance Corp. for 37 years. He resides in Katonah, N.Y., and was born September 12, 1916. He will succeed Sanford Cloud, Jr.

William B. Snyder is president of GEICO in Washington, D.C. He was born July 9, 1929. He will succeed Thomas J. Corcoran, Jr.

Taras G. Szmagala is manager of communications for the Greater Cleveland Regional Transit Authority. He was born May 5, 1933. He will succeed Howard G. Gibson.

Evie Teegert is active in Republican Party politics and community affairs in Edina, Minn. She was born November 17, 1931. She will succeed Lawrence H. Stern.

John W. Thomas, Jr., is president of Thomas Built Buses, Inc., in High Point, N.C. He was born June 9, 1927. He will succeed Ralph W. VanNatta.

Frank A. Ursomarso is vice president and general manager of Union Park Pontiac, Inc., in Wilmington, Del. He is former Deputy Assistant to the President and Director of Communications under the Reagan administration. He was born September 19, 1942. He will succeed William D. Keith.

John Scott Van Wyk is owner of Mazda of Tucson, Ariz. He was born January 31, 1942. He will succeed William L. Mallory.

Kenneth E. Vetter is owner of Ken Vetter Insurance, Inc., in Bakersfield, Calif. He was born September 7, 1928. He will succeed Nicholas Figueroa.

Melville P. Windle is vice president and general counsel for Trans America Insurance Co. He resides in Rancho Palos Verdes, Calif., and was born April 16, 1926. He will succeed David W. Elizandro.

Ronald Reagan, Appointment of 29 Members of the National Highway Safety Advisory Committee Online by Gerhard Peters and John T. Woolley, The American Presidency Project

Filed Under



Simple Search of Our Archives