Bill Clinton photo

Announcement of White House Fellows

May 26, 1993

The President today appointed 17 men and women from a variety of backgrounds and across the country to be the 1993-94 class of White House fellows.

White House fellows are a select group of men and women who spend a year early in their career serving as paid assistants to the President, Vice President, or Cabinet-level officials. This class will begin their fellowship year in September. They were selected by a commission appointed earlier this month by the President. It was chaired by Nancy Bekavac, the president of Scripps College.

"This is a group of people of exceptional abilities, strong motivation, and a commitment to serve their country," said the President. "I look forward to their service and am confident they will join the successful ranks of such White House fellowship alumni as General Colin Powell and Secretary Henry Cisneros."

The individuals chosen for this year's fellowships are:

Paul T. Anthony, Washington, DC

Suzanne Rose Becker, Bolton, MA

Christopher Frank Chyba, Ellicott City, MD

Jami Floyd, Oakland, CA

W. Scott Could, Topsfield, MA

Kevin Vincent Grimes, Mountain View, CA

Suzan Denise Johnson Cook, Bronx, NY

Michael Nathaniel Levy, Washington, DC

Gaynor McCown, New York, NY

Barbara Paige, New York, NY Raul Perea-Henze, New York, NY

Leslie Ramirez, Evans, GA

Maj. David Rhodes, USAF, Glendale, AZ

Reginald L. Robinson, Lawrence, KS

Martha E. Stark, Brooklyn, NY

Todd Ulmer, San Francisco, CA

Maj. Roderick Von Lipsey, USMC, Philadelphia, PA

NOTE: Biographies of the White House fellows were made available by the Office of the Press Secretary.

William J. Clinton, Announcement of White House Fellows Online by Gerhard Peters and John T. Woolley, The American Presidency Project

Filed Under



Simple Search of Our Archives