Bill Clinton photo

Announcement of Senior Executive Service Appointments

June 23, 1993

The President today announced the appointment of a total of 26 Senior Executive Service officials at Departments and Agencies across the Government.

"We are continuing to move forward with the process of filling all of the positions in the Federal Government," said the President. "I continue to be pleased with the excellence of our appointees, the work that is being done across the Government, and the diversity of the administration we are putting together."

The appointees, who do not need to be confirmed by the Senate, are:

U.S. International Development Cooperation Agency

Jill Buckley, Director, Office of External Affairs, Agency for International Development

Department of Commerce

Jill Schuker, Director, Office of Public Affairs

Ellis Mottur, Deputy Assistant Secretary for Technology and Aerospace in Trade Development

Barry Carter, Deputy Under Secretary for Export Administration

Rita Hayes, Deputy Assistant Secretary for Textiles, Apparel and Consumer Goods

Paul London, Deputy Under Secretary for Economics and Statistics

Meredith Jones, General Counsel, National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration

Department of Defense

Molly Williamson, Deputy Assistant Secretary for Near-East and South-East Asian Affairs Pat Irvin, Deputy Assistant Secretary for Humanitarian Assistance and Refugee Affairs

Stanley Roth, Deputy Assistant Secretary for East Asian and Pacific Affairs

Jane Mathias, Deputy Director, Office of Legislative Affairs

Gloria Duffy, Deputy Assistant Secretary and Office of the Secretary of Defense Special Coordinator for Cooperative Threat Reduction and Secretary of Defense Representative and Deputy Head to the Safety, Security and Dismantlement Talks

Sarah Sewall, Deputy Assistant Secretary for Peacekeeping/Peace making Policy

Brian Sheridan, Deputy Assistant Secretary for Drug Enforcement Policy and Support

Maj. Gen. James Klugh (Ret.), Deputy Under Secretary for Logistics

Louis Finch, Principal Deputy Assistant Secretary for Strategy, Requirements and Resources

Department of Energy

Jack Riggs, Principal Deputy Assistant Secretary for Policy, Planning and Evaluation

Louis Gicale, Deputy General Counsel for Programs

Department of Health and Human Services

John Monahan, Director of Intergovernmental Affairs

Melissa Skofield, Deputy Assistant Secretary for Public Affairs, Policy and Communications

Portia Mittleman, Deputy Assistant Secretary for Aging

Department of the Interior

Debra Knopman, Deputy Assistant Secretary for Water and Science

National Aeronautics and Space Administration

Jeffrey Lawrence, Assistant Administrator for Legislative Affairs

Department of Transportation

Mark Gerchick, Chief Counsel, Federal Aviation Administration

Department of Veterans Affairs

Dale Renaud, Deputy Assistant Secretary for Intergovernmental Affairs

Edward Chow, Deputy Assistant Secretary

NOTE: Biographies of the appointees were made available by the Office of the Press Secretary.

William J. Clinton, Announcement of Senior Executive Service Appointments Online by Gerhard Peters and John T. Woolley, The American Presidency Project

Filed Under



Simple Search of Our Archives