Home Search The American Presidency Project
John Woolley and Gerhard Peters Home Data Documents Elections Media Links
• Public Papers of the Presidents
• State of the Union
Addresses & Messages
• Inaugural Addresses
• Farewell Addresses
• Weekly Addresses
• Fireside Chats
• News Conferences
• Executive Orders
• Proclamations
• Signing Statements
• Press Briefings
• Statements of
 Administration Policy
• Economic Report of the President
• Debates
• Convention Speeches
• Party Platforms
• 2016 Election Documents
• 2012 Election Documents
• 2008 Election Documents
• 2004 Election Documents
• 1960 Election Documents
• 2017 Transition
• 2009 Transition
• 2001 Transition
Data Index
Audio/Video Index
Election Index
Florida 2000
Presidential Libraries
View Public Papers by Month and Year

INCLUDE documents from the Office of the Press Secretary
INCLUDE election campaign documents
Search the Entire Document Archive
Enter keyword: 

Limit by Year

To    :

Limit results per page

INCLUDE documents from the Office of the Press Secretary

INCLUDE election campaign documents

You can search the Public Papers in two ways:

1. Search by Keyword and Year
You can search by keyword and choose the range of years within your search by filling out the boxes under Search the Public Papers.

2. View by Month and/or Year
Select the month and/or year you would like information about and press View Public Papers. Then choose a Public Paper and the page will load for you.

Search Engine provided by the Harry S. Truman Library. Our thanks to
Jim Borwick and Dr. Rafee Che Kassim at Project Whistlestop for critical assistance in the implementation of the search function, and to Scott Roley at the Truman Library for facilitating this collaboration.
Ronald Reagan: Appointment of the Membership and Principal Officials of the President's Commission on White House Fellowships
Ronald Reagan
Appointment of the Membership and Principal Officials of the President's Commission on White House Fellowships
May 15, 1981
Public Papers of the Presidents
Ronald Reagan<br>1981
Ronald Reagan
Font Size:
The American Presidency Project

Promote Your Page Too

The President today announced the appointment of the new members of the President's Commission on White House Fellowships. The Commission is bipartisan. Its purpose is to recommend to the President the White House fellows who serve for a 1-year period on the White House staff, in the Executive Office of the President, Office of the Vice President, or the offices of members of the Cabinet.

The new Chairman of the Commission is Vice Adm. James B. Stockdale (USN-Ret.). A native of Abington, Ill., Admiral Stockdale completed a distinguished Naval career in 1979. He is the recipient of more than 25 combat decorations, including the Congressional Medal of Honor, which was awarded to him for valor during the 8 years he spent as the senior American Naval prisoner of war in North Vietnam. Admiral Stockdale served as President of the Naval War College from 1977 to 1979 and as the president of the Citadel from 1979 to 1980. He is the recipient of seven honorary degrees and is currently a senior research fellow at the Hoover Institution on War, Revolution and Peace at Stanford University.

The other members of the Commission are:
Dennis L. Bark, deputy director and senior fellow, the Hoover Institution, Stanford, Calif. Dr. James E. Bostic, Jr., corporate executive, Riegel Textile Corp., Greenville, S.C.
Bruce L. Bower, attorney at law, Winston & Strawn, Chicago, Ill.
Marva Nettles Collins, founder and teacher, Westside Preparatory, Chicago, Ill.
Midge Decter, executive director, Committee for the Free World, New York, N.Y.
Ads E. Deer, legislative liaison, Native Americans Study Commission, Washington, D.C.
Donald J. Devine, Director, Office of Personnel Management, Washington, D.C.
Edwin J. Fuelher, president, Heritage Foundation, Washington, D.C.
Lt. Gen. Andrew Jackson Goodpaster, Superintendent, U.S. Military Academy, West Point, N.Y.

Edith Green, retired Congresswoman, Wilsonville, Oreg.
Michel T. Halbouty, independent oil producer, Houston, Tex.
Bruce H. Hasenkamp, director of government and industrial relations, The Shaklee Corp., San Francisco, Calif.
Susan C Herter, founder and former president of Volunteer Opportunities Inc., New York, Santa Fe, N. Mex.
Richard Hinojosa, attorney at law, Evers & Toothaker, McAllen, Tex.
Francis S. M. Hodsoll, Deputy Assistant to the President, Washington, D.C.
Author E. Hughes, president, University of San Diego, San Diego, Calif.
Nancy Landon Kassebaum, United States Senator, Washington, D.C.
Irving Kristol, coeditor, The Public Interest, New York, N.Y.
Sammy Lee, medical doctor and former Olympic diver, Santa Ana, Calif.
James T. Lynn, attorney at law, Jones, Day, Reavis & Pogue, Washington, D.C., and former Director of the Office of Management and Budget
Dana G. Mead, vice president for human resources, International Paper Co., New York, N.Y.
Rita Moreno, actress, Pacific Palisades, Calif.
Martha Peterson, president, Beloit College, Beloit, Wis.
Nancy Clark Reynolds, vice president, Bendix Corp., Washington, D.C.
Jean Smith (Mrs. William French), officer and member of numerous volunteer organizations, San Marino, Calif.
Robert S. Strauss, attorney at law, Akin, Gump, Strauss, Hauer & Field, Washington, D.C., and Dallas, Tex., and former chairman of the Democratic National Committee
Deanell Reece Tacha, associate vice chancellor, University of Kansas, Lawrence, Kans.
Shannon J. Wall, president, National Maritime Union, New York, N.Y.
Margaret Bush Wilson, attorney at law, Wilson, Smith & McCullin, St. Louis, Mo., and former chairman of the board of NAACP National Housing Corp.

In addition, James C. Roberts, 34, of Great Falls, Va., was named Director of the Commission. Roberts previously was president of James C. Roberts and Associates, a Washington-based public relations firm.

Named Deputy Director of the Commission was Lt. Comdr. Marsha A. Johnson-Evans, 33, of Springfield, Ill. Lieutenant Commander Johnson-Evans is a former White House fellow and is .on detail from the Navy.

Citation: Ronald Reagan: "Appointment of the Membership and Principal Officials of the President's Commission on White House Fellowships ," May 15, 1981. Online by Gerhard Peters and John T. Woolley, The American Presidency Project. http://www.presidency.ucsb.edu/ws/?pid=43818.
© 1999-2017 - Gerhard Peters and John T. Woolley - The American Presidency Project
Locations of visitors to this page