George W. Bush photo

Statement by the Press Secretary on Federal Disaster Assistance for Iowa

September 14, 2007

The President today declared a major disaster exists in the State of Iowa and ordered Federal aid to supplement State and local recovery efforts in the area struck by severe storms and flooding during the period of August 17 to September 5, 2007.

Federal funding is available to State and eligible local governments and certain private nonprofit organizations on a cost-sharing basis for emergency work and the repair or replacement of facilities damaged by the severe storms and flooding in the counties of Allamakee, Appanoose, Boone, Calhoun, Cherokee, Davis, Humboldt, Mahaska, Palo Alto, Pocahontas, Van Buren, Wapello, Wayne, and Webster.

Federal funding is also available on a cost-sharing basis for hazard mitigation measures statewide.

R. David Paulison, Administrator, Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA), Department of Homeland Security, named Justin A. Dombrowski as the Federal Coordinating Officer for Federal recovery operations in the affected area.

FEMA said additional designations may be made at a later date if requested by the State and warranted by the results of further damage assessments.


George W. Bush, Statement by the Press Secretary on Federal Disaster Assistance for Iowa Online by Gerhard Peters and John T. Woolley, The American Presidency Project

Simple Search of Our Archives