George W. Bush photo

Statement by the Press Secretary on Federal Assistance for New York

October 02, 2004

The President yesterday declared a major disaster exists in the State of New York and ordered Federal aid to supplement State and local recovery efforts in the area struck by Tropical Depression Ivan on September 16-24, 2004.

The President's action makes Federal funding available to affected individuals in the counties of Broome, Chenango, Delaware, Orange, Sullivan, and Ulster.

Assistance can include grants for temporary housing and home repairs, low-cost loans to cover uninsured property losses, and other programs to help individuals and business owners recover from the effects of the disaster.

Federal funding is also available on a cost-share basis for hazard mitigation measures statewide.

Representing the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA), Michael D. Brown, Under Secretary for Emergency Preparedness and Response, Department of Homeland Security, named Theodore A. Monette as the Federal Coordinating Officer for Federal recovery operations in the affected area.

The Agency said additional designations may be made at a later date if requested by the State and warranted by the results of further damage assessments.

The Agency said that those who sustained losses in the counties designated for aid to affected individuals and business owners can begin applying for assistance by calling 1-800-621-FEMA (3362), or 1-800-462-7585 (TTY) for the hearing impaired. The toll-free telephone numbers will be in operations 24 hours a day, seven days a week until further notice.


George W. Bush, Statement by the Press Secretary on Federal Assistance for New York Online by Gerhard Peters and John T. Woolley, The American Presidency Project

Simple Search of Our Archives