George W. Bush photo

Statement by the Press Secretary on Federal Assistance for Maine

May 14, 2003

The President today declared a major disaster exists in the State of Maine and ordered Federal aid to supplement State and local recovery efforts in the area struck by severe winter cold and frost on December 17, 2002, and continuing.

Federal funding is available to the State and eligible local governments in the counties of Androscoggin, Aroostook, Cumberland, Franklin, Hancock, Lincoln, Oxford, Penobscot, Piscataquis, and Washington on a cost-sharing basis for the repair or replacement of public facilities damaged by the severe winter cold and frost. Federal funding is also available on a cost-share basis for hazard mitigation measures.

Representing the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA), Michael D. Brown, Undersecretary for Emergency Preparedness and Response, Department of Homeland Security, named James N. Russo as the Federal Coordinating Officer for Federal recovery operations in the affected area.

The Agency said that damage surveys are continuing in other areas, and additional counties may be added for assistance after the assessments are completed.


George W. Bush, Statement by the Press Secretary on Federal Assistance for Maine Online by Gerhard Peters and John T. Woolley, The American Presidency Project

Simple Search of Our Archives