George W. Bush photo

Statement by the Press Secretary

December 03, 2004

On Friday, December 3, 2004, the President signed into law:

H.J.Res. 110, which commemorates the 60th anniversary of the Battle of the Bulge during World War II.

H.J.Res. 111, which provides that the first regular session of the 109th Congress will begin at noon on Tuesday, January 4, 2005.

H.J.Res. 115, which provides FY 2005 appropriations for continuing projects and activities of the Federal Government through December 8, 2004.

H.R. 1047, the "Miscellaneous Trade and Technical Corrections Act of 2004," which modifies temporarily certain rates of duty on specified imported items and makes other amendments to trade laws.

H.R. 1630, the "Petrified Forest National Park Expansion Act of 2004," which authorizes the Secretary of the Interior to expand the boundaries of the Petrified Forest National Park in Arizona and acquire land for inclusion in the Park.

H.R. 2912, which reaffirms the inherent sovereign right of the Osage Tribe of Oklahoma to determine its membership and form of government.

S. 150, the "Internet Tax Nondiscrimination Act," which reinstitutes the moratorium on State and local government Internet access taxes and multiple and discriminatory taxes on electronic commerce, retroactive to its expiration on November 1, 2003, and extends the moratorium through November 1, 2007.

S. 434, the "Idaho Panhandle National Forest Improvement Act," which authorizes the Secretary of Agriculture to sell or exchange certain land and improvements in the Idaho Panhandle National Forest.

S. 1146, the "Three Affiliated Tribes Health Facility Compensation Act," which authorizes appropriations for the construction of a rural health care facility on the Fort Berthold Reservation of the Three Affiliated Tribes in North Dakota.

S. 1241, the "Kate Mullany National Historic Site Act," which establishes the Kate Mullany National Site in the State of New York as an affiliated area of the National Park System.

S. 1727, which increases by $540 million the ceiling on amounts authorized to be appropriated for the Reclamation Safety of Dams Act of 1978 and makes other changes to the Dam Safety Program.

S. 2042, which requires the Department of the Treasury to compensate Rocco A. Trecosta for back pay not received for service performed as a Department of Defense Overseas Dependent Schools employee.

S. 2214, which designates the facility of the United States Postal Service located in Missoula, Montana, as the Mike Mansfield Post Office.

S. 2302, which modifies visa requirements with respect to certain aliens who receive graduate medical education or training in the United States and remain after their training to practice in areas with a shortage of health care professionals.

S. 2484, the "Department of Veterans Affairs Health Care Personnel Enhancement Act of 2004," which makes changes to pay provisions for Department of Veterans Affairs physicians and dentists and authorizes alternate work schedules and executive pay for VA nurses.

S. 2693, which designates the facility of the United States Postal Service located in Albany, New York, as the Lieutenant John F. Finn Post Office.

S. 2640, which designates the facility of the United States Postal Service located in Reno, Nevada, as the Guardians of Freedom Memorial Post Office Building and to authorize the installation of a plaque at the building.

S. 2965, which extends the Livestock Mandatory Price Reporting Act through September 30, 2005.

George W. Bush, Statement by the Press Secretary Online by Gerhard Peters and John T. Woolley, The American Presidency Project

Filed Under



Simple Search of Our Archives