George W. Bush photo

Statement by the Press Secretary

June 21, 2001

The President today declared a major disaster exists in the State of Mississippi and ordered Federal aid to supplement state and local recovery efforts in the area struck by Tropical Storm Allison on June 6-13, 2001.

The President's action makes Federal funding available to affected local governments in a five county area. The counties include George, Hancock, Harrison, Jackson, and Pearl River.

Federal funding is available to eligible local governments on a cost-sharing basis for the repair or replacement of public facilities damaged by Tropical Storm Allison. Federal funding is also available on a cost share basis for hazard mitigation measures.

Joe M. Allbaugh, Director of the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA), named David J. Fukutomi as the Federal Coordinating Officer for Federal recovery operations in the affected area.

The Agency said that damage surveys are continuing in other areas, and additional assistance and counties may be added after the assessments are completed.


George W. Bush, Statement by the Press Secretary Online by Gerhard Peters and John T. Woolley, The American Presidency Project

Simple Search of Our Archives