George W. Bush photo

Statement by the Press Secretary

July 12, 2002

The President today declared a major disaster exists in the State of Vermont and ordered Federal aid to supplement state and local recovery efforts in the area struck by severe storms and flooding on June 5, 2002, through June 13, 2002.

The President's action makes Federal funding available to affected individuals in the counties of Caledonia, Franklin, Lamoille and Orleans. Assistance can include disaster housing, grants, low-cost loans to cover uninsured property losses, and other programs to help individuals and business owners recover from the effects of the disaster.

The President's action also makes Federal funding available to eligible local governments in the counties of Caledonia, Essex, Franklin and Orleans on a cost-sharing basis for the repair or replacement of public facilities damaged by the severe storms and flooding.

Federal funding is also available on a cost share basis for hazard mitigation measures.

Joe M. Allbaugh, Director of the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA), named Thomas P. Davies as the Federal Coordinating Officer for Federal recovery operations in the affected area.

The Agency said that damage surveys are continuing in other areas, and additional assistance and counties may be added after the assessments are completed.


George W. Bush, Statement by the Press Secretary Online by Gerhard Peters and John T. Woolley, The American Presidency Project

Simple Search of Our Archives